Solution Architecture — Start Up Minimum Viable Products -Part 1

Ani Oko
3 min readAug 12, 2017

--

I am intrigued on the subject of solution architecture, my reasons are that I assume it involves process modelling using a UML instead of BPMN. I have BPMN skills and I intend to showcase some solutions architecture using BPMN

According to Holistic-Software.com “ Solution Architecture exists within the context of an Enterprise Architecture and shapes lower level System Architectures. Various modeling languages can be useful in this space such as BPMN, workflows based on SIPOC and some elements of UML or simple activity workflow diagrams. As always in Holistic Software Development we do not recommend slavishly following standards, instead we recommend using elements from appropriate toolkits to communicate as effectively as possible. In our experience a rich picture, not too focused on symbology, is more beneficial.”

I have designed several web applications like Teachera.org, Daycarer.org and gospelfinancier.org

I had a desire a few years back to create a platform that offers press release distribution service in Nigeria. I had no backend skills by then but I had frontend programming skills. I had a test and made the necessary discoveries.

I am attempting to re-introduce this product into the Nigerian market and I will use it as an example in testing yet again my solution architecture skills. There is a danger of telling people upfront what I intend to do, the smarter and faster person can go ahead to build and offer this service. That then brings me to the concept of ideas. Ideas are 1%, execution 99%. To successful execute an idea many things are involved. As I write this, I am on a red ocean journey.

Let’s get started!

Press Newswire Solution Flow

There are three entities that has to be considered during the development of the solution. They are: Businesses, Bloggers, Internal Staff(Admin).

Businesses: These are small and medium sized businesses that are looking to send press releases accross Nigeria.

Bloggers: Are online bloggers who are looking for additional revenue streams beyond publishing adverts.

Internal Staff(Admin): Check the bloggers, determine their worth etc.

I could go ahead to write user stories for requirement gathering like a typical Business Analyst would do and I could also make a target operating model but I choose not to. Why?

Why I choose not to go deeper is that, I will handle most of the development and co-ordination using an MVC(Module View Controller) or MTV(Module Template View) approach with Python/Flask and I will outsource a few more complicated aspects like integrating Paystack payments.

I will use Flask-base instead of Python Django. Deploy it on Digital Ocean and have it up and running once am done.

However, like I said earlier, ideas are 1% and execution 99%.

85% of success

I can work out to get the minimum viable product to be up and running in a month or lesser. The issue who will do the business development work without giving excuses but putting the required energy necessary to bring in the supply side. Suppliers in this venture are the bloggers. I have an old list which has maybe at least 25 +of them. There are several ways to reach them e.g

Facebook Marketing: Using Lookalike audience?

Phone calls: Calling each blogger and selling the concept

PR: Getting written about on a key(s) Nigerian newspaper(Paid)?

Event: Organising a meetup of bloggers and the solution introduced?

Face to face: Meeting them face to face?

All of the above? None of the above?

My next topic may be looking at the supply side of this venture or talking about my path to solving the 85% challenge which I need to solve.

--

--

Ani Oko

Author of the book "Abolishing the Traditions of Men in the Church". If there is any book to read this year, it is this book. Get your copy online or offline.