My interesting programming journey as a teen.

Anirban Bhattacharya
4 min readSep 5, 2024

--

Year 2021…

The year I wrote my first “Hello, World!” program in Python. I started learning programming from a very renowned institution called YouTube University, where my professor was Harry Bhai, founder of the CodeWithHarry YouTube channel. I watched his Python long video, which I liked very much and learned a lot from. At that time, I was in 10th grade, so it took me about a month to watch the full course and explore Python by solving practice questions. After that, my curiosity about app development grew. I started exploring Java but failed. Then I realized that if I tried to learn many languages at once, I would end up learning nothing. So, I focused more on Python and its use cases. I wanted to do web development, so I researched web development using Python and found Flask and Django. I started with Django but couldn’t grasp it, then tried Flask but the same result. The reason was that I wanted to learn everything quickly and master them. THE BLUNDER EVERY BEGINNER MAKES WHEN THEY ARE CURIOUS. I then found a web framework in Python named PyWebIO. It was very easy to learn, and I created some projects using it and hosted them on Heroku. This sparked my interest in web development, leading me to search for “HTML course CodeWithHarry.” But then I got caught up in procrastination.

Year 2022…

The year of my board examinations for class 10th. Instead of studying, I gained the courage to learn HTML again and started watching the videos. Then I realized that coding isn’t just about watching videos and learning theory. I learned HTML by copying and pasting code. Eventually, I learned the Django framework and made a portfolio website. Afterward, I signed up for HackerRank on my favorite teacher’s suggestion. I solved around 50 questions in Python, which quickly advanced me from beginner to intermediate with a strong understanding of concepts. At that moment, I realized that programming isn’t about memorizing code; it’s about solving computer-related problems. I became very good at logic building. In February, I realized I hadn’t studied for a month and became depressed. The only subject I was good at was mathematics. I ended up scoring 77% in 10th grade. Poor, right? I made an excuse that due to COVID-19 online classes, I couldn’t study properly, and surprisingly, that worked for me. I then took the commerce stream and started programming again. This time, I wanted to build real-world applications, either utility-based or useful. I made many simple and complex projects using Django, which improved my programming skills a lot. I also learned web scraping, data analysis, and data visualization. Then a YouTube video titled “How to earn from coding” caught my attention, opening a new path for me. I watched it and soon started freelancing. The first month was confusing, but I created gigs on Fiverr and opened accounts on Freelancing.com, Upwork.com, and many more. Then I realized LinkedIn was the best place to get clients. The mistake I made was offering services I didn’t even know about, like graphic designing, logo designing, and content writing. This led to negative reviews from clients. Then, I received a web development project from my coaching class owner and earned my first 10K. I continued to get more clients, making around 15K in total. Isn’t that very low? Yes, in terms of money. But during freelancing, I realized that at my age, I shouldn’t be greedy and should focus on learning. Although I made just 15K in three months, I gained a lot of knowledge and experience. I learned how to approach clients, manage multiple clients, identify potential clients, and deliver the best service. However, I was scolded by my teachers and dad for not focusing on my studies and doing what they considered TIMEPASS. Unfortunately, I had to pause freelancing.

Year 2023…

I started focusing on my studies and scored decent marks in 11th grade, around 71%. I worked hard and continued my programming journey, despite my dad’s disapproval. I managed to spare some time for coding, supported by the excuse that I took computer science as my major in 12th grade. I studied and practiced Python simultaneously.

Year 2024…

The 12th board examinations results came up, I scored 89.4%, with 99/100 in computer science. I then went for pursuing BCA course at Presidency College, Bangalore, a decision that I had already made after my 10th exams. I have an ability to make long-term decisions and make them happen. So, that’s all about my programming journey till now. I’m currently exploring more…

--

--