#ValuableDiversity (Interview series) — Ep. 3 — Wordsmith

Anitei Andrada
6 min readApr 12, 2018

--

Introducing you to interesting people around the world

Meet Chinedu Junior Ihekwoaba

- Wordsmith, Poetpreneur, Creative Content Writer (Nigeria) -

If writing never existed, my last breath would have been lost long ago. I started writing for self-relief and, as I go, I understand better each day the power of pen. It’s a medicine to the brain, as well as to the soul. This is how I see it. But I know, for sure, that there are other people around the globe that think alike.

One of the most talented poets I’ve got the honor to come across the work of is my guest for today, Chinedu Junior Ihekwoaba. He uses his talent to send powerful messages, with inspirational tone behind each of them. Chinedu could easily become a trend setter, if he wanted, due to his strength and knowledge. Though his gift shines bright, he’s friendly and approachable, as well as a funny guy.

>Keep on reading the below lines to get to know him better and I’m sure you will find value in the words of a young, yet wise, man.

1. Hi Chinedu, it’s an honor to have you as interviewee. Please, let us know a bit about yourself. How was Chinedu the kid?

Chinedu Junior Ihekwoaba is an introvert. Quite stubborn. I am also playful. Rhymes and storytelling is my hobby. I won the Master of Riddles in my Nursery School days. I am a fan of HBK Shawn Michaels and John Cena. Wrestling and video games were my childhood story.

2. You’re a very talented writer, who can easily instruct words how to dance. How did you get here?

I listen to rap music a lot. Growing up as a child, artists like Jayz, Eminem, DMX, Mystikal, Dr.Dre, Shyne, Tupac Shakur, Xzibit, Snoop Dogg and many more are my favorites. So I fell in love with creativity and wordsmith. I guess that was just it.

I believe everyone is special. That keeps me going any time.”

3. All your writings hide powerful messages between the lines. Were the struggles of your life to “blame”?

Struggles of life in general. What I see and perceive in things around me. I discovered so many people are soaking a lot in life and couldn’t speak. Communication is broken and a major reason I am working with Nonye on the #healtheworld campaign. She wrote a book sharing different communication tips.

4. Nigeria is your home. With no innuendo intended, how did you break through the boundaries of prejudgment? Were you (even a tiny bit) afraid when you published your first piece of writing?

One thing I didn’t tell you in your first question, I am fearless. I believe everyone is special. That keeps me going any time. You can’t stop people from judging you, so I always show up irrespective of judgment. It is your view.

Chinedu Junior Ihekwoaba for ValuableDiversity interview by Andrada Anitei @TakeNoFake hoodie closeup

5. Referring to the previous question, was the feedback you received constructive? Or did it put you down for a while? (Definitely not for good, since you’re one of the most influential writers on LinkedIn!)

Influential writer? Ahahaha! That’s a big compliment. Anyways, I have my ups and downs. I am human. I almost quit when a troll told me this is not Facebook or twitter. Your writing is crab. I almost deleted my account. Then, Michael Chapman, Marchem Pfeiffer, Susan Case, Brett Brody, Uzoma Agorua, Roland Gilbertson all helped me build my confidence and I kept going. Now I have an emotional coach, Omozua Ameze, that helps me. So, I am as bold as a lion. Back then, I contemplated continuity — but not anymore.

6. What gave you strength in times of struggle? What’s your air?

God, my Mom and The boyhood dream gave me strength. I have one dream, to be a motivational speaker and a writer. To travel around the world and thank God, my writing is doing that now. Those three kept me going.

Chinedu Junior Ihekwoaba, holding baby, for ValuableDiversity interview by Andrada Anitei @TakeNoFake

My book #chinspires365days is coming soon and I will also be starting a video series in April.”

7. If people were to ask you for 1 advice that saved your life and turned the tables to your favor, what would that be?

Speak out to be heard, speak out to be understood. Speak out to show the real you. That makes it easier to help you.

8. It’s obvious that communication is an important aspect of your life. Therefore, in a plastic and individualistic society, how would you guide people towards lifting their heads off their phones and make acquaintance with the world around them?

I will do that with my writing. I have always done that. To guide people in different areas of life. I leverage LinkedIn and channel my energy to reach everybody. My book #chinspires365days is coming soon and I will also be starting a video series in April. I will use some of my connections in different fields. Stay tuned. Lol

9. I’ve noticed that you are a continuous supporter of personal development and a change advocate. How did all this help you?

It has helped me to become a better version of myself. To have a better world, we need better people and that can only come through personal development.

Back then, I contemplated continuity — but not anymore.

10. Is there any practice you have as a daily routine? And what would be your message to the world in 1 word?

I read the Bible as early as 5 am and say my prayers till 6am. I write what comes into my head as a content writer and freelancer. Then I cook and go about my daily activities.

One word for the people in the world: BELIEVE!

(Chinedu’s e-mail ended like this: “Thanks Andrada for sharing your time with me. I appreciate.” — Isn’t he just a beautiful soul?)

Thank you for the time and patience you’ve allotted to answering the questions above. You won’t believe the deja-vu feeling I got while proofing this particular interview! May God bless you always and may your message spread like rainbow colors!

Below you can find an impressive piece of writing, provided with the courtesy of the author, as an introduction to his brilliant mind:

“A dream
Comes real
If only
We believe

Keep trying
No relenting
Keep moving
Stop looking

Make mistakes
We fail
To prevail
By delay

Just learn
Get experience
Be persistent
And consistent
Then content

Be relevant
It’s important

Find it
Try it

Be grateful
And faithful

Your labor
Has honor

Walk right
All time

Don’t lie
To fly

Have zeal
Be real

Try forgive
It heals
You’re free
That’s it

Make peace
Embrace it

The unknown
Let go

It’s nonsense
No essence

Being afraid
It enslaves
Break away
Just sail
Have faith

While wait
It wastes
While haste
You faint

Just moderation
With determination

You’re god
Sounds odd?
Of course
Get up
March on”

Chinedu Ihekwoaba ©2018

You can follow Chinedu through the below channels:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Chinedu-Ihekwoaba/e/B073PCRTLF

Blog: http://www.24hrstrending.co.uk/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/chinedujuniorihekwoaba/

Medium: https://medium.com/@Chinexolorgy

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Chinexolorgy

* All photos used in this article were provided by the rightful owner, with clear consent. Using them without prior agreement may become subject of the copyright law. All rights reserved to Chinedu Ihekwoaba *

Next week (19.04.2018): Richard C. Pryor

--

--

Anitei Andrada

NLP Practitioner & Coach | Emotional Writer & Editor | Author x 2 | Founder of FlavoredVentures.com | #FlavoredWriting |