Day trip to Katmai National park

Anitha Vallikunnel
6 min readJul 27, 2023

--

My Bucket shot

I came across the term bucket shot in a video by one of my favorite photographers, Peter Mckinnon. A bucket shot is like a bucket list, but for photographers — it’s a picture you want to take before you die.

Have you ever stumbled upon those mesmerizing videos of salmon leaping through the air like aquatic acrobats, defying gravity over a waterfall while bears eagerly await them at the edge of waterfall?I was obsessed with such photographs of bears snatching jumping salmon . I have drooled over every frame of those triumphant catches to near-miss shots. This was one of my bucket shots.

PS: All my bear photographs are at the end , once I finish my long rant about bears.

Katmai National park

All the jumping salmon pics you see are from Brooks falls in Katmai national park, Alaska.

This true Alaskan wilderness is one of the least visited national parks in US with no connectivity through land. You have to either take a boat or float plane to get here. This is also one of the world’s most volcanic areas with 14 active volcanoes within its boundaries. Bears are crawling through the park to the point that the safe recommended distance is only 50 yard, compared to 300 yards in other parks. You cannot avoid bear encounter in this truly bear land.

En route bear wonderland

So as usual, I planned my trip, booked tickets, packed bags, and voila, I was in Alaska. I took a day trip with Bristol adventures as part of my Alaskan solo trip. From Anchorage to King Salmon, we took a plane, followed by a float plane to Brooks Falls. Landing on water was exhilarating, and the journey itself was worth the trip.

Bear safety class

Compared to my guided visit to Lake Clark, this trip with Bristol Adventures to Brooks Falls was a whole new experience. Instead of being part of a group, I was exploring on my own, as they dropped me off at Brooks Falls and later picked me up.

Did I mention that I couldn’t carry bear spray? Airline regulations considers bear spray as class 5 hazardous cargo and its nearly impossible to transport it in flight. Stores within national park do not sell them. This is why bear safety class is very important at Katmai National park.

Anyone who comes to Katmai has to go through Bear safety class. Thumb rules of bear safety here is very counter intuitive

Rule number 1: Do not run! Running can trigger their predatory response. Plus, these murder teddies can run up-to 30 mph (50 Kmph)for short span. This pizza loving, cardio hating, couch potato never stood a chance with running anyways.

Rule number 2: What to do when a bear charges towards you? Did you hear Rule number 1? Sometimes bears bluff charge at you. A real attack and bluff change can mainly be distinguished by the way bear keeps his ears and whether he is making noise. In a real attack, bear will have its head down and ears pointed back, and the bear will come at you like a freight train. Good luck looking at ears and not at claws when this 1000 lbs giant beast is running towards you!

Rule number 3: What if a bear is really attacking you?? PLAY DEAD. Do not fight back! Cover your head and neck with your hands and arms. Lay flat on your stomach, and spread your legs apart. Stay still and don’t make any noise — you’re trying to convince the bear that you aren’t a threat to it or its cubs

Things change when it is a black bear. If a black bear charges and attacks you, fight back with everything you have! DO NOT PLAY DEAD!! We have to include this part in the kid’s Story.

Rule number 4: Do not surprise a bear. Keep making noises and specifically human noises. So no playing songs, bells etc that they do not associate with humans here. Even if it means talking to yourself and calling out for the bear.

At the end of class, you are given your bear safety class pin. They use a new design for every year. My precious pin !!!

Journey to Brooks falls

National park has created viewing platforms at the Brooks falls, elevated and out of way from the bears, yet provides close up views. It is a 2.2 miles round trip journey to the viewing platform from the Brooks lodge. Bears often walk the same trail and close encounters are very common here. One reason why you have to keep talking is so that you don’t surprise a bear. Bear jams are also common where a bear is sleeping on the trail and you need to wait till they wake up and go on their way.

I was very scared to be on my own and started tagging along group of other day trippers heading to the platform and not long after we were stopped by an enormous bear blocking the way. He saw this group of humans and he decided to go in the opposite direction. But it was an exhilarating moment !

Disappointment for lunch

July is a peak time for salmon and visitors . Many people come here at that time and hence there is 30 minutes limit on the viewing platform. I had to put my name on the list and wait almost all of my time there to get to the platform. What’s more disappointing? NO jumping salmon. None!!!

This taught me that mother nature has her own schedule and ain’t got nothing to do with your planning as times. I went first week of July and it’s almost guaranteed to see jumping salmons and crowds of hungry bears and spring cubs here. 2020 winter was harsh and hence salmon was late. Salmon was close by, but not yet at the falls. Because of this only few bears were there.

They kept diving in search of fish, but no one got any. But hey hey hey! Story is not so sad either. I got to see couple of adorable cubs and mama!

At first the mama was hiding the cubs and was at the other side of the river. It was almost time for me to leave and I was hoping that she brings the cub out. Not only did she bring them out, but brought them to my side. It felt like she was posing midway for me.

Isn’t she gorgeous? This was none other than bear 128, named as Grazer. She got massive fan following for being a feisty mom. These were her 1 year old cubs.

And the cubs !! Oh my heart!! I just want to squeeze him!!!

Even if I didn’t get the shot I wanted, I was so happy that I got to see these cubs. Guess what? I met them again next year and also got my bucket shot! That’s a story for another blog.

After a successful session of bears, I returned to Anchorage and continued my Alaska trip. But this trip made me want to come back to Brooks camp and to obsess over the bears here.

Head over heels louuvvuuu for these majestic murder machines !!!!!

--

--