Navratna: The Nine Gem wonder


Navratna is a sanskrit word for nine gems. The neckpiece is made of 9 different gems. I remember always being in awe of my grandmother’s navratna necklace, comprising of gems from a ruby to the elegant pearl.

Considered to be one of the most auspicious jewelry pieces, the composition is indeed a personification of the solar system. The ruby being the center piece represents the sun, while the pearl represents the natural satellite moon.Below is a pictorial depiction of a Navratna necklace with the nine gems and the planets they symbolize.

The necklace and jewelry compositions indeed represent a solar systemRuby for sun, Pearl for Moon, Red coral for Mars, emerald for Mercury, Diamond for venus, Yellow Sapphire for Jupiter, Diamond for venus, Blue Sapphire for Shanni, Hesonnite fort he ascending node of the moon also called Rahu, Cat’s eye for Ketu ,The descending node of the moon.

The Navratna…

View original post 333 more words

Like this:

Like Loading…


Originally published at on January 14, 2016.