DISTRAINT

Anjerosan
2 min readOct 20, 2019

--

Since it is Spooktober, I thought I play something that is in season. Unfortunately I don’t have many horror games lying around in my PC but I have one that I haven’t played before so I thought I’d dust it off. It is a 2D side-scrolling psychological horror adventure game for PC.

The game

The game is a side-scrolling game that is designed with pixel perfect animation. This gives off a nostalgic feeling to older gamers, at least it did to me. While moving forward, you will encounter elements that represents guilt by the protagonist.

The game doesn’t use typical jump-scares as commonly used by most horror games. While the game incorporates drugs, blood, and a bit of gore, it’s very minimal and it is within the context of the story. Even the sound design is on point — gloomy background music, gloomy noises, and chilling sound effects.

The plot

The game starts in an apartment building where you play an ambitious young man whose job is to evict tenants who are having their property taken away from them. He needs to evict a list of three people to secure a partnership in famous company. His plans went awry little by little when his guilt took over particularly the first tenant, who is an elderly woman. In that very moment, he finds out the price of his humanity.

Conclusion

The game is story rich but short, you can finish the game in one sitting. I wished the game would have been a bit longer, though. I really like all the minutes I spent playing this game and I definitely recommend it.

You can watch my playthrough here: YouTube Playlist

--

--