This is no ordinary beginning.

AnkitKimtee
3 min readJun 24, 2019

--

Being an entrepreneur in the diamond industry has taught me how to identify the extraordinary, instantly, and value it above all else. And it was the search for an extraordinary experience that led to me becoming an innovator.

It all started back in 2015 and I have Vertu to blame for it. Well, it did spoil me.

I’m big on gadgets and love to own the latest tech. Vertu was no exception. I had heard so much about this iconic mobile phone that I couldn’t resist giving it a try. So, I went to London and got the phone. Needless to say, the experience was extraordinary.

I connected to the concierge service and asked them to reserve a table for 6 at Tamasha, London. Now let me tell you a secret, Tamasha at the time used to have a wait list of a week or more, but I got, or rather Natasha from Vertu got, a reservation for the very same evening. Within 10 minutes of my request, I got a call from the restaurant confirming the reservation. That was quick!

My entire experience in London was almost perfect, because of this service. I’d have event tickets booked ahead of time and cabs arranged. I could skip queues, and I heard one could even order a jet or arrange to meet the Queen of England!

On the day I was leaving, the wrath of dark clouds descended upon London-there was a huge storm. My flight was delayed by a few hours and I took that as a sign- I felt like extending my trip anyway. One call to Vertu and my flight was rescheduled. I didn’t have to hold the line for ages as the IVR directed me to the right operator, nor did I have to figure out visa validity, or the best way to save money on cancellation. Vertu had taken care of it all.

Back in my hometown, my thoughts kept returning to that experience and something struck me. Vertu had helped me feel at home in a different city, and made my trip extraordinary, but why should such experiences be limited to the elite few (let’s face it, it’s an expensive phone)? Could I not use the technology we have today to help everyone have a memorable trip, like I did?

I discussed this idea with my wife, Rashmi, and the more we talked about it, the more it made sense.

On July 10, 2016, I shared my idea with Santosh Kataria (my brother-in-law and now, partner in crime) and on July 27, the company was incorporated in the name of GenieTalk Private Limited, with the aim of using technology to help everyone in the world have extraordinary travel experiences.

Ankit Kimtee

Co-founder, GenieTalk Private Limited

Passionate about people and efficient processes, I lead Operations & Alliances at O Genie. I am always out there to build the brand in novel ways. On the personal front, I am fond of technology, music, travelling, and meeting and networking with people.

I would really appreciate it if you could take time out and be a part of the future we are building at O Genie. We are always looking for talented people to be part of the core team we fondly call Team Genieus.

--

--