Sundown Syndrome: The Tame Impala Underdog You Need to Hear

Alexandra Medina
2 min readFeb 13, 2020

By Lexi Medina

Only just over a year ago did I stumble upon the magic that is Tame Impala. I had heard of them before, but nothing really stuck until I dove head first into their discography. It’s pretty easy to get lost in all of it — the synths, creamy rhythms, the mysterious whispers of Kevin Parker as he drifts through the notes. It’s nothing like I’ve ever heard before and a sound that they have absolutely mastered. When sixties psychedelic rock meets modern alternative, Tame Impala is what you get and for me, Sundown Syndrome captures it all perfectly.

She’s a lengthy one, rounding in at five minute, and forty-nine seconds, all of which you wonder how quickly it disappears as you drift through the song. The initial and overall sound of this song is what caught my attention. It’s easy to skip new songs from the initial riff, but I’m sure glad I stayed around for this one. The muffled guitar brings you in, playing morphed and wide as if you’re chasing it, begging for it to come back. In almost a sigh of relief Kevin starts to sing again, as the mellow hum of the bass pushes along.

Then it hits us: full force from every instrument and every layer is effortlessly distinguishable. Blended with the soothing overlay of the chorus, a brisk wind picks you up and carries you with the melody. I didn’t even pay attention to the words the first time I heard it because of how sensational it sounded. At 3:47 it all slows down and a spotlight shines on an isolated…

--

--