From one craft career, to another, to another.

Anna Almestal
3 min readNov 25, 2019

--

craft
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Is programming a craft? I would say so, after finishing the second sprint on my boot camp I’m in the middle of learning a new craft and hopefully in the very beginning of a new career within tech.

craft
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

When I first started I doubted my own possibility to be able to learn something completely different and feared to go into something that I thought would be very theoretical. Coming from a background where I have worked with my hands my whole career, where going from hairdresser to jeweller wasn’t too far in my opinion, but going from a jeweller to developer felt like a huge step.

I then decided this will be just like learning another craftsmanship and I must say nine weeks into this boot camp, it’s very much like learning a new craft. You can read a lot of texts, but as important is trail and error.
What’s the difference between cut a perfect bob to a make a piece of fine jewellery to make a food review app built with java script and fetching Apis. Well the difference for me is that I practiced the first two for around ten years each, but the last one only once.
I will get there, it’s hard, its challenging, I constantly have to practice my patience, I know it takes a lot of grit to learn a new skill. But I’ve done that before and I know I can do it again.
I try to remind myself that I’m doing this boot camp because I don’t have these knowledge and I’m not a developer, yet.

Mob-programming
Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

This last sprint I’ve learned java script, API and mob-programming among other things, but most important that “together we are strong”. Talking and helping each other, helps me a lot along the way and that the tech industry is a very helpful community. This sprint has been an emotional roller coaster for sure and I guess it will continue like that for a very long time, but I hope I will be able to lean back a little bit on my knowledge in the future, just like I could in my previous careers.

Right now I’m on the very top of the roller coaster and I’m so excited of the upcoming four sprints.

--

--