Easy Swipe Interaction with Figma

Anna M
2 min readMay 31, 2020

--

Figma’s auto animate prototyping feature is awesome, and as I’m on a Figma vs AdobeXD comparison journey I decided to add an interaction to Daily UI Challenge #6 (Profile) in Figma.

Here’s the swipe interaction I came up with for the profile challenge:

I only needed to create two screens for this interaction to work. Here are the original screens:

Creating these screens was fairly straightforward, but I do want to note that:

  1. The nav bar at the bottom of DailUI6–01 doesn’t have its own colored background. If I added a background color to that container, the coloring of the transition from blue to green would look strange.
  2. The check mark you can see in the second screen is also present in the first screen behind the card.

Setting up the prototype was next. I added a drag interaction to the cards in both screens to simulate a swipe right/swipe back left interaction, similar to the interaction currently seen on Bumble.

For animation, I chose the Smart Animate which automatically created the smooth transitions seen in the final result.

When I run the prototype, swiping right on the card activates the animation, creating a very realistic interaction!

--

--