My Amazon rainforest journey

Anna Chashchyna
20 min readMar 24, 2020

The ray of light suddenly wakes me up. It is so aggressive and thirsty for my attention that I can feel the light crawling under my eyelids.

It’s hard to tell what time it is. It’s been more than two weeks since we’re landed in the city of God, and I still find it hard to synchronize my biological alarm with real-time.

Every morning I jump up as if I am already late for everything. The sun is straight up (like it’s noon), and it’s burning.

Brazilian sun’s job is to burn everything to the ground as soon as it rises.

I grab my phone to check the time.

It’s 6 am.

The usual me would turn to the other side and fall back asleep, but my Brazilian version of self can’t just fall back asleep. I am excited to start my day.

We are an adventurous couple, me and my fiancé, that easy-going type that can decide things on the go and never annoy each other about our common choices.

I love this about ourselves. No overthinking, no doubts, just go with the vibe.

A couple of hours of distance between idea and realization.

That’s how one grey Kyiv-in-October’s afternoon we have decided to spend the whole month of December in Brazil.

Workation.

This was an idea I have never tried before — to work from somewhere else. Somewhere where it’s nice, warm, beautiful, people are nice (and my personal requirement…

--

--