Name That Star

Anna French
2 min readJun 13, 2022

--

it’s you in me, far apart but forever in my heart.

Real love transcends space and time.

Photo by Ramy on Unsplash

Going new places, thinking new thoughts..

I double back to this place so I don’t get lost.

I’ve been here for so long, I‘m not tryin’ to stay.

The song of my heart sings,

“it’s time for new things!”

There’s talk of the new star that was just named,

and I found another one, still unclaimed.

The named one discovered; now burns and shines.

I’m pondering this now as I’m back here again.

“What is it?,” I wonder.

Then I hear the crowd cheer, with thunder.

The same rock I passed a decade ago,

is something I didn’t previously know.

It hasn’t changed or sparkled so,

for me to see bright lights in a dazzling show.

It just waited patiently to be part of the trend,

til I understood I had to adjust my lens.

This rock was a star waiting to be pointed out,

so it could fly across the sky and show me what love was all about.

I watched from afar celebrating that degree,

while sad tears turned to joy even though it didn’t include me.

The ride of our lives is more graceful and smooth,

when we let go of attachments to the visions we choose.

There’s always a lesson in the way it unfolds,

hard things have a way of being great spiritual molds.

Knowing this is to name that star within me,

that is being shaped by the universe, setting me free.

Surrendering to life I asked for a pardon,

and spirit whispered to me, “that’s your start to a garden.”

So I’ll just stay here while all the dust settles,

keeping out of those stinging nettles.

And while I plant seeds, avoiding the populous,

I smile with joy and peace as I think to myself,

“Wow!,…You are truly marvelous!”

No longer are you my darling little child,

you’re a young woman now and that doesn’t seem so wild.

My door will always be open to no end,

and I’ll be here when you need a friend.

Photo by Baim Hanif on Unsplash

⭐ 2 pm June 12, 2022 🎉

--

--