The Truth about College Athletics

Anna Keefer
3 min readMay 11, 2020

--

As high schoolers we likely excel in our sport, with grit and determination we may even land ourselves a scholarship. In the beginning of the recruitment process college athletics are glamorized. The gear, the facilities, the cheering fans, and much more make us feel like it’s all too good to be true. What these Universities choose to disregard is that this demanding lifestyle is not for everyone.

Photo: Anna Keefer UNC Track and Field Athlete

Imagine you have just settled in your new college dorm room and are waiting to begin this long journey ahead. Just like that you are instantly slammed with a massive amount of responsibility and pressure you were not ready for. Waking up at 5 AM to make it on time to your morning weight session. Followed by several rigorous college courses. Then trying to fit in a snack before going to your second practice of the day. Afterwards, getting treatment and doing your best to eat a well-balanced dinner. Finally, beginning your homework and doing your best to go to bed at a reasonable time, just to do it all again the next day. While mentally needing time for yourself as well as a having social life, is by no means easy.

Going into my Senior year at the University of North Carolina I discovered the skills I attained from being a college athlete are unmatched. Being on the Varsity Track and Field team I was pushed further than I knew I could go both physically and mentally. What I found throughout my time here is that college athletics are not for everyone. Injuries, painful workouts, time management, and sacrifice are all expected from college athletes. The expectations are high, but the outcomes you will reach by the end are at a level you didn’t know was possible.

One thing I uncovered on my journey was my true passion of the sport. My passion and work ethic motivated me to keep pursuing my goals. I have met many Division I athletes who are simply not passionate about their sport, leading them down a tough road. If college athletics are truly something you want to pursue you need to ask yourself if you really love it. Because when you’re practicing 5–6 days a week year round you better love it.

College athletics is a business. Incoming freshman were surprised to find out their coach’s true personality didn’t match his/her’s recruiting personality. Countless times athletes come in expecting to have the classic college experience. Partying, constant fun, but it is not what the movies make it seem. The ones who are succeeding are not living this lifestyle. A lot of hard work is required to maintain good grades and to be successful in your sport. No matter what hand you’re dealt in your years as a college athlete it is important to step back and think about what your goals are and what you want out of the experience. It is not for everyone, but if it is for you, you will find yourself to be unstoppable.

--

--