If my time management choices define me, I am made up of equal parts Slack, email and multitasking.

Anna Talerico
3 min readJun 16, 2016

--

I spend a little too much of my free time reading about time management, productivity and how to accomplish great big things. One day soon, I plan on taking a hiatus from this recent reading habit that is consuming the best of me. But until then…Articles like “Tell me what you did today and I’ll tell you who you are” simultaneously inspire and distress me.

Inspire me: Much of how and where I spend my time is my choice. I can choose to do things that make an impact. I can choose to do things that significantly move the ball forward for my company, my team, my family, and my health. I can do things that I enjoy and find meaning in. It’s in my control, and I love that.

Distress me: If my time management choices define me, there are many days that I am made up of equal parts Slack, email, multitasking and driving. Just to clarify, NOT driving and multitasking at the same time.

Once in a great while I end the day with a feeling that I accomplished a lot. I created something. Or shipped something. Or helped someone. Or had some great deal-making calls. But lots of days go by in a blur and I end thinking, “Did I ever get myself out of Slack today? Oh yes, there was that one time I got myself into an hour-long email rabbit hole. Now let me go jump in the car for a two-hour jaunt around town running the kids to their activities!”

I’m actually not complaining. At all. Remember the “inspire me” part? Our time choices do define us. And being reminded of this helps to shape my behavior. Maybe a few less glances at Instagram this evening. A bit longer with a great book this weekend. A few more high-impact meetings tomorrow. A bit of Slack DND enforcement for myself. A choice to not get sucked into my computer screen while I am on my next call (there’s that ugly multi-tasking thing…the bane of my existence). A shorter to do list each morning, with bigger impact things to tackle before I move on to the rest.

After many moments distressing about the minutia that make up my day, I’ve come a bit full circle on this lately. Yes, I very often end the day feeling that I didn’t do enough and too much of my day was spent in the weeds. But, as I look back on the list of things I’ve done this year — the articles written & published, the deal strategy and coaching with my team, the go-to-market changes both decided and executed on for our product…I’m thinking it’s all ok. So, yes, I am equal parts Slack, email, driving and multitasking. But in between that, I’m getting stuff done and making it happen.

On a side note, probably one of the biggest impact things I can do to accomplish even more would be to stop reading articles about time management and productivity. But that’s something to tackle another day. Until then, here’s on of my favorite articles: https://medium.com/desk-of-van-schneider/one-video-article-or-side-project-can-change-your-life-361b953059f5#.e8496ywrb And another: https://theascent.biz/the-value-in-going-off-the-grid-74ae4a0673ff#.zi6rtl1gs

--

--

Anna Talerico

I build and scale capital-efficient, high-growth technology companies.