30 Balloons in the Sky

Celebrating my birthday and my favorite color

Anne Bonfert

--

Credit: Anne Bonfert

It’s been my birthday a few days ago and it happened to be a round one. Yes, I just turned 30 and a good friend of mine had organized a party and a lot of yellow balloons.

There is a tradition behind the yellow balloons as she started it a few years back when I was still living in Namibia all year round. She’d organize a party and everyone coming would wear something yellow.

It could be the shoe lazes, a bracelet, a bow tie or a yellow shirt. Whatever it was, it was lovely to see how people who never wear colors at all still put on this bright yellow for my birthday.

Credit: Anne Bonfert

Next to all the yellowness going on at the party, we also had a mountain of crayfish my friend had organized. We were all too busy this December to go and dive some of these rock lobsters but thanks to connections she knew where to get them.

We first boil the crayfish until it turns bright yellow. Then we cut it in half and put garlic butter on the tails. Now it comes onto the fire until ready to be eaten.

--

--

Anne Bonfert

I am a traveler. Photographer. Writer. Teacher. Skydiving instructor. Adventure enthusiast. Nature lover. And fell in love with the African continent.