SuZzling
2 min readJul 16, 2024

Is Math Really Hard?

Of course it’s not if you’re a gifted child. Born to be a math wizard. A walking calculator. Doesn’t even need to try, it’s in the “blood”. OR SO THEY THOUGHT.

I was once called a math wizard. Walking calculator, they thought. People think, even my teachers (respectfully), that being good in math is in the blood, like it was some sort of magical power that was passed down from generation to generation. The thing is, it was not. Math is a knowledge that is learned. Math wizards render a lot of time to understand that knowledge. Perhaps, more time than they did on other subjects.

But I heard my thoughts questioning. “But how about kids in competitions who’re good in math?” “Did they render more time than I did?” “Some was only 5, and I’m studying math for more than 15 years?” “How come they be faster than me”

Still, it was not in the blood. It’s in the person who taught them. You see, math wizards have secrets they don’t wanted to expose.

Because when they tell someone, they can be math wizards too…

It’s not in the blood,

It’s not a magic as well,

It’s the “Math Tricks”!

Crazy isn’t it?… Crazy dumb?

But hey, it’s real. Math wizards aren’t wizards at all, they use tricks like magicians did. Those tricks made math easy to solve and answer. Even kindergartens could understand.

They use tricks to solve things faster. Take this as an example:

15 x 8 = ? (Can you solve it mentally in seconds?)

But math tricks made that possible.

First, you’ll separate the 15 to 10 and 5.

Then solve in mind.

10 x 8 = 80 (8 x 1= 8, then you’ll just copy the zero to get 80)

then, 5 x 8 = 40.

Now, it’s easier to just add the 80 and 40 to get 120 as the answer.

Let’s summarize it for further clarification.

10 x 8 = 80

5 x 8 = 40

(80+40 = 120)

It’s the same as 15 x 8 since you multiplied 8 with 10 & 5 (15).

It’s easier than to solve the traditional multiplication in your mind. (Mine always lose numbers when I tried — I need to write it to remember what I got on first solve — I promise you it took me a lot more time, I never even finished solving.) ++ I am a very short term memory person.

Math has a lot of tricks and it’s not the one who tries hard solving will win. It’s always the one who solves it easily. The easier, the faster, the better.

You can try searching for math tricks in YouTube. You’ll see a lot.

But first, you gotta learn the basics of math. You’ll see the tricks works better when you know the basics of math.

Goodluck future Math Wizard!