How Fitbit Has Helped My ADHD

Annette Lyon
Life’s Melancholy Business
9 min readAug 22, 2020

--

Photo by FitNish Media on Unsplash

And Why the Pomodoro Method Sucks

I’m always eager to find the latest hacks for managing my symptoms of ADHD; after all, it’s not news that medication helps, but only to a point.

To add to the joys: the medication that works best for me doesn’t have a generic yet, and my insurance decided to stop covering it, so I’m back to a far-less-effective one I can actually pay for.

Ergo, I need any life hacks for my executive function I can find.

My journey with Fitbit didn’t start with ADHD or hacks or anything else like that, unless you count regular exercise as hack because sure, exercise does help.

ADHD isn’t why I got my first tracker, and if you’d told me a year ago that my new one would be one of my best friends for productivity I would have laughed.

But Dang, It Is!

I’d long been a fan of the Fitbit One, largely because I didn’t have to remember to put it on (remember the whole executive function thing?), and because I could wear it discreetly, usually clipped to my bra. It synced with the app, so without looking at it, I could see my stats.

When it died after about seven years of faithful service, I was dismayed to learn that I couldn’t replace it with the same model. The One was no…

--

--

Annette Lyon
Life’s Melancholy Business

USA Today bestselling, award-winning author. Word nerd. Chocoholic. Mom. Deals, newsletter, books & more: https://taplink.cc/annette.lyon