Last Spring My Dating Life was In The Toilet.

Dated an Alcoholic with an Elaborate Comb over.

Annieinthecity
6 min readApr 9, 2024
Photo by Curology on Unsplash

My mom invited me to go with her to the Farmer’s Market on a sunny day where I finally didn’t have to wear a jacket. All of the flowers were in bloom and covering every surface. The farmer’s market by Grand Army Plaza starts at the entrance of Prospect Park where the Cherry Blossom Trees were in full bloom. Pale pink petals littering the ground around us, bushy and full in the trees like if Willy Wonka made bubble gum. My mom started telling me about the peony’s that come in multi-colors and the hyacinths that are so fragrant, I pictured their deep purple blooms filling my bedroom and going into an instant delicious sleep coma like Sleeping Beauty as she spoke.

She punctuates my dream bubble with a question:

Ann, you know what would really brighten up your apartment?

Having A Baby.

I was rattled. (baby joke).

The closest thing I had to a boyfriend in spring if 2023 was this guy I had started seeing again who definitely wasn’t a catch, but I was lonely and really wanted to know the truth behind his hair.

My former best friend had told me he had an elaborate comb over but I was under a love spell and hadn’t noticed it.

--

--

Annieinthecity

NYC based Comedian, writing my humor memoir in short story form. Loves shoes, candy, getting in shape!