4 ways in which I managed my anxiety while doing my Ph.D.

Ann Mary Alexander
3 min readJul 15, 2023

--

Do you feel like you have a fast-paced mind with a million thoughts? Do you feel like you have to keep working all the time or else you are a failure?

These are some of the few thoughts I had when I did my Ph.D.

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

My anxiety was so bad that even if someone asked me for help I would avoid them not because I was selfish but because I kept thinking “If I help them I will not be able to complete my work on time”.

I would distance myself from my friends because I felt having a good time with my friends would mean I won’t have time to do my work which ultimately would make me more anxious.

I thought if I sacrifice my time today to do more work I would have plenty of time tomorrow to have fun. But that time never came.

In fact, it was towards the end of my Ph.d. that I realised I had productivity anxiety. In simple terms, productivity anxiety means that no matter what you do or how hard you work, it is never enough.

I read an article about it and I still remember I wanted to cry and hug myself.

I became more kind to myself and became my biggest cheerleader especially on the days I struggled to get out of bed.

4 ways in which I managed my anxiety.

These are the 4 ways in which I managed my anxiety.

  1. Understood the root cause of my anxiety

I was anxious because I kept thinking about the future.

What will happen if I don’t finish my tasks on time?

I have got so much more to do. How will I get it done?

I kept overthinking and this made things worse.

But whenever I had such anxious thoughts I’d tell myself that I would somehow figure it out.

And I trusted myself. I didn’t think about the future which was not in my control instead I focused on my present actions.

The process is more important than the result, the result is just a by-product of the process.- M.S.Dhoni

2. Made to -do lists and scheduled my work

Every night before I slept I wrote the tasks I had to do the next morning.

I knew that by doing this I wouldn’t feel anxious the next morning. Sometimes I use ClickUp software for scheduling and sometimes the good old pen and book gets the job done.

3. Interrupted my mind when I had anxious thoughts

This is something I learnt after watching Mel Robbin’s youtube video. Sometimes our mind needs confirmation that we are okay .

It’s also important that we don’t wait for another person to make us feel better. That’s when we have to tell ourselves:

I am okay,

I am safe,

I am loved.

4. Meditation

Every day I meditated for at least 5 minutes.

Honestly, I didn't know what good it did in the beginning.

But after two weeks, I found I became more mindful of my words and actions. I started analyzing my thoughts.

Earlier I used to feel angry whenever I made a mistake. but now I’ve become more kind to myself.

I've learnt to appreciate myself even on my bad days.

I visualise an image and pay attention to my breath as I inhale and exhale. I do “ Om” chants repeatedly until I can calm my mind.

These are the 4 ways in which I managed my anxiety.

Still, there are days when I get anxious, but now I am more aware of it. I have learnt to be patient with myself.

I have accepted the fact that I am a work-in-progress and even if there is no one to appreciate me I'll be there for myself.

--

--

Ann Mary Alexander

Writer, author, poet. Ph.D holder. Personal stories and articles on online writing. Contact me -annmary.alexander93@gmail.com