Ann Rose J
2 min readMar 21, 2018

FUSION DOSA

Indian cuisine has always fascinated me. Not just because I am an Indian but the usage of umpteen spices and subtle combinations to bring forth a variety of flavours, has always made me more and more passionate about it.

As a person, I am not a strict follower of guideless. My kitchen is a vibrant lab and each cooking indulgence; an experiment.

Even when I use a recipe book I tend to fiddle out, that's typical me.

Idly and Dosa are my kid’s favourites. While one like it with Sambhar the other one likes it with a combo of Sambhar and tomato chutney. My mornings are less stressfull when I decide to break the family fast with idly/dosa.

Of late we moved to australia and the lil ones put up with a new school. They have lunch mates from various nationalities, all non Indians.

I then knew that lunch box would become a serious concern for my little ones who otherwise likes to take appam stew, idly Sambhar and the like for lunch.

And it did. That's when I had to put my creativity hat and fuse the food cultures across the world. Knowing how much my kids like dosa... it was hard ...really hard for me not pack it for them for lunch. The best option was to fuse.

That's when my foodie brain came up with the fusion dosa. It has a dosa base (carbohydrates, fibre, protein) and on top of it - an omelette ( protein, calcium, iron, vit D), ham (protein and fat), cheese (calcium, protein, minerals, fat) lettuce (fibre and minerals) and taste inducers - tomato sauce and mayo.

And in my opinion its worth a try.