How to Get PMP Certified (6 Step Process)

Anant Kasliwal
3 min readMay 21, 2023

I recently completed my PMP certification. I was trying to understand how to go about getting this certification and it turns out, it's not that straightforward. I had to go through a bunch of articles and lots of content on the PMI website before I could finally understand the process of getting certified.

To save you some time and effort, I’ve drafted this article which summarises all my learnings from the process and hopefully can act as your one-stop shop if you are looking to get PMP certified.

Step-1: Register

  • Create an account on the PMI website (if you don’t already have one) and have a cursory read about the benefits etc. of getting PMP certified — PMP Certification | PMI
  • Creating an account is relatively straightforward, you can SSO using Google, etc. or just sign-up using any email ID.

Step-2: Prepare the application

  • The application submission is the most tricky part of the process. It’s not tough but tricky.
  • Let me clear something upfront, you don’t need to hold the title of a Project Manager to get PMP certified. You need to have experience in carrying out the roles and responsibilities of a project manager.
  • The application has various facets and…

--

--