2023/06/11–2023/06/17

Ansgar Lin
2 min readJun 17, 2023

--

Life

Today, I volunteered at Italian Day in Little Italy, Vancouver. Although the volunteer work was somewhat monotonous, as I didn’t receive any specific assignments, I still had a good time. I spent most of the day wandering around, chatting with people, and encouraging them to buy tickets at the waffle booth.

In the beginning, I wasn’t sure how to approach people without intruding. I decided that a bit of a disguise might help. So, even though I was wearing an Italian Day T-shirt, I bought some popcorn and casually stood by the booth, pretending to be just another visitor.

Once I adopted this guise, interacting with people became easier. They were no longer taken aback by my approach, and some even engaged in small talk or helped themselves to some of my popcorn.

In the end, I managed to persuade a number of people to buy tickets. I also got a chance to participate in the DJ portion of the event, which was quite fun. All in all, it was an enjoyable experience.

Dutch

  • Ik heb mijn buurjongen aangeraden om een bril en suiker te kopen omdat het goedkoop is.
  • Toen ik op een aankomende trein wachtte, had ik een plastic tas bij me.
  • Ik heb een wortel voor het diner gegeten en in de keuken gekookt.
  • Ik heb geoefend om met de bus naar het vliegveld te gaan.

--

--