I Never Thought I Would Be a Writer

You start out writing crap, thinking it’s good and gradually, you get better at it

Anshul Kummar
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

--

Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

It was 1998 when I moved to the USA from India with a dream to make it BIG and look for career opportunities.

Moving to a new country with a different culture and varied environment was challenging.

I came here with a considerable debt, but incredible support from my brother-in-law, Anil Lal, and Meera Lal (my sister-in-law) made life feel like a breeze. Their immense love and support were the stepping stones to my next phase of life.

Cut to three years later—I had a decent job, we were fairly well settled in our new apartment, and we started making some amazing friends.

Then, I bumped into a guy named Sourin Rao at my job who was into blogging, and we started writing together on Blogspot.

This was 2005, and I wrote about sports, life lessons, and personal stories.

Although I was writing in India during my school and college days, this phase was like setting a foundation. I was nervous but thought of taking a plunge.

This was the phase I started loving about myself, and it gave me immense joy penning down my thoughts and feelings.

--

--