The story of a 16 year old CEO in the blockchain space

Ivan Shergill
4 min readMar 12, 2018

--

The Invisible factor

I’ve seen that in the blockchain and specifically the crypto space, whenever people discover that I’m just a teenager, they stop taking me seriously and are no longer interested in my project. I’ve seen this many a times and was pretty surprised at first as this space is all about decentralisation and breaking social norms. There is a huge issue in the crypto and blockchain space that everyone turns a blind eye towards. Blockchain tech and the first cryptocurrency Bitcoin was based on the idea of decentralisation which in the process of making money, everyone in the crypto space has forgotten. People invest in projects and Initial Coin Offerings after they believe that the Founder and the team members are over qualified for the task and have been successful in the past.

A new way to break social barriers

What people don’t realise is that blockchain and cryptocurrency was a mechanism where there was supposed to be a shift of power and influence that didn’t happen. This was supposed to be a revolution where societal prejudices would break and a new civilisation would be formed where people don’t judge each other based on materialistic achievements. A new way to overcome social norms and a place where individuals who earlier had no place in the centralised societies could express their ideas.

This was supposed to be a revolution where societal prejudices would break and a new civilisation would be formed where people don’t judge each other based on materialistic achievements

Visible Factor: Greed

Our greed has overpowered this noble thought and we only desire to contribute towards those projects who have the best teams. We support those CEOs who’ve “achieved it” in the real world because we believe that they’ll help us become rich quick. What we don’t realise is that we’re supporting centralised institutions who are just here because of pure greed. Now, I believe greed is an important driving force in humans. Instead of classifying emotions as good or bad, I think of them as the same. If humans didn’t have greed, jealousy and egos to feed, we wouldn’t have achieved the level of progress we have today but excess of anything is bad. If they are successful in the real world, why do they need millions of dollars of hard earned money when they can achieve it with their own wealth that they “supposedly” earned in the real world.

Reconfiguring our mindset

It is not our fault that we fall for these traps and tend to get attracted towards these projects, this is how we were brought up by centralised institutions and it would take us a lot of time to change our mindsets though we are on the right path. I’ve seen discrimination against me because of my age everywhere in this sector even though I have sufficient and sometimes even more knowledge related to this sector than other “CEOs and Influential People” in this space. I’m underestimated everywhere I go and need to prove myself before being able to do anything. I was even denied entrance at a blockchain conference in New Delhi, India called “BlockDelhi” because of my age and the reason they gave was so ignorant and I quote “There are many financial transactions involved and we just can’t risk it”. What does that sentence even mean? What kind of transactions take place at a conference? I didn’t waste my time there trying to get in where I wasn’t welcome and I continued working on my project. I see CEOs and team members of different ICOs who don’t even have basic knowledge about blockchain and the benefits associated with the technology and setup fundraising goals upwards of $50 Million which to my surprise, reach successfully.

Amazing journey

I agree that being the first CEO with no such “achievements” and “qualifications” in the real world is pretty hard but I am to break this prejudice and stereotype and inspire the young generation to follow their passion no matter how many obstacles come in the way. Though I met many people who doubted me and ignored me, the journey hasn’t been all bad. I met many people along the way who did not care about my age or nationality or qualifications and supported my project as they thought it was a revolutionary one. This is just the start and I plan to encounter many more non believers and believers along the way which would only strengthen my belief in blockchain technology.

If you’re still not aware of what I do, what are you waiting for?

I’m the CEO of Musards which is a decentralised audio entertainment platform which utilises blockchain technology to produce a decentralised music and entertainment industry where artists and content creators get maximum revenues and users get rewarded for their engagement and time on the platform.

Official website — Musards.org

We have a community of more than 30k members in our Telegram group, Join us now at https://t.me/musardsgroup

Twitter- https://twitter.com/officialmusards

[As of writing, I’m still 15 but I’m going to turn 16 in six days so I figured why not ;) ]

--

--