Moving to Silicon Valley to upgrade my personal software

Anthony Wijnen
6 min readSep 18, 2015

I packed my bags for San Francisco immediately after graduation. That was 2010. Time really does fly. I’m here to tell you that as a young graduate (in my case in electrical engineering) you should do the same. There are some limitations to Belgium as a professional launch pad and there are opportunities in Silicon valley you simply can’t ignore. Let me elaborate.

Local limitations

Recently, I returned to the motherland. I decided to come back to join an amazing startup founded by my dad. I couldn’t be more excited. We’re literally going to reshape the web, with our small team divided between Croatia and Belgium.

Beautiful Belgium. As a country, we’ve been kicking the world’s ass since 1830, when it comes to chocolate, beer, and diamonds. When it comes to starting world-class companies, building amazing products and driving economic growth, not so much. Name one Belgian entrepreneur kids aspire to be. One novel belgian product people around the world love to use on a daily basis. One company that recently disrupted their industry. I sure can’t. Why?

When it comes to quality of life, Belgium is truly heaven on earth. People are warm, family ties are strong, education is qualitatively sound and affordable, our houses are beautiful, the food is delicious, and the drinks are plentiful. That said, I’m worried. We’re eating away at our supplies. How long can we keep this up? Not for long if you ask me. Not if we keep this course.

Jan De Nul, one of Belgium’s most prominent entrepreneurs, gave a speech accurately delivering this message to the entire country. Jan, I wholeheartedly agree! I truly hope they listen and react. With this post I tip my hat to you. Keep spreading the word, please!

If I had to sum it up in one sentence, this is the problem: There’s an imbalance between the amount of value we consume and the amount of value we create.

Our government apparatus is an expensive joke. Yet, the worst part is that the majority of my compatriots like it that way. People prefer to be lived by our politicians instead of blazing their own trail. Starting your own company and building an empire is not the Belgian dream. Success is even frowned upon. People prefer stability over growth, and laziness over passionate work.

The Belgian dream is status quo. The american dream is to make it big and I love it.

Silicon Valley culture we should adopt

Embrace failure

Everyone I met had at least one story to share in which they failed miserably. A time when they hit the wall so hard they barely got back up. But they did. And they are damn proud of it too. Rightfully so, because in most cases those experiences have led them on the path to success.

Celebrate success

When success eventually comes around, it is celebrated. Heroic stories are told about entrepreneurs who guided their team to victory. They are praised in the media and considered role models for those that follow suit. That’s how it should be. Risk and reward should be coupled.

Meritocracy

I’ve never been asked to show my university degree. Merit is all that matters. If you posses the right mix of hard and soft skills, technical aptitude and work ethic, you’ll get a chance. And you’ll get it fast. You’ll be given responsibility to an extent you’re not ready for. You’ll be punching above your weight class. Throw ‘em in the pool and see whether or not they can swim. That’s the motto. I experienced this modus operandi first hand three weeks into my first job at Ozmo Devices. My boss came over and asked whether I had brought a tooth brush with me. “Here’s a ticket to Qingdao (China), he said, “You’re leaving tonight. Our main customer is having a pressing problem, and I know you can fix it”. And I did.

Community of builders

The first Starbucks I went to was in the center of quaint Palo Alto. As I was sipping the first of many frappucinos, I overheard two guys talking about a meeting they had just had with a venture capitalist around the corner (literally around the corner that is). From the smiles on their faces, it was apparent that they had just raised another round of funding that would give them the runway needed to keep building out their team, their product, and their dream. In Silicon Valley everyone is obsessively trying to build companies and create value. All your SF buddies and their cat will regularly pitch their newest and hottest startup ideas to you. If you prefer talking politics, sports, or celebrities you’ll be disappointed.

Storytellers

Americans are storytellers. They know how to sell. They could in fact sell ice to an eskimo. I think. Anyway, they know how to captivate you. It’s no coincidence we all enjoy American movies. They move us with their music and persuade us with their (sometimes sleazy) commercials. Being able to tell killer stories is equally useful, if not more, in the context of doing business. It’s one thing to make a superb product, it’s another to bring it to mass-market. Steve Jobs and Apple are probably the best example of what happens when you combine both to perfection.

Make more money, simple

Money is not my main driver. But you need the dinero whether you want to admit it or not. For me it’s a ticket to freedom. It allows you to give those you love the jump-start they need or the care they deserve. In any case, Silicon Valley is a good place to make some serious money. Starter developer salaries for example are North of $80K per year, and can easily reach well into the six figures. This easily leaves you with $5K net each month since taxes are more reasonable than back at home. Hard work is rewarded here, which in turn drives talent to the valley. It’s this positive cycle that made the Bay area the place it is today.

Variety is the spice of life

Finally, in San Francisco I found everyone to be an immigrant. The story of how I got there was not out of the ordinary. Everyone appreciated it. I felt right at home. I felt like a San Franciscan. The friends I made span the globe, so does the food, the music, the women, or anything else that moves you. The international aspect of San Francisco provides the right amount of spice in the dish that is life. I can’t wait to taste it again.

That brings me to my last and main point. You too can use some of this American brainwashing. Your life will be richer if you believe you can make miracles happen. You’ll feel liberated knowing that if someone doesn’t offer you a job, you can simply create it yourself. You’ll be at ease, knowing you’re not alone. We like to help one another. Don’t hesitate to ask me to grab a coffee. Seriously.

So my suggestion for all you twenty-somethings at the dawn of your professional journey:

Get your personal software upgraded in Silicon Valley, come back and start building.

If you’re a compatriot of mine, I want to amp up that suggestion. Your inherent strengths as a Belgian include a good dose of common sense, loyalty, poise, and modesty. These traits will be appreciated amongst the hints of American shallowness and overzealousness. On the other hand your inclination to be shy, un/under-ambitious and scared will soon make way for a more sharp-shooting, star-reaching, fast-moving, confident American way of life.

Uniquely complementary if you ask me.

--

--

Anthony Wijnen

Enjoying the intersection of engineering, product, and sales where technology meets the market