Why you should tip the delivery guy

Antje Pfahl
4 min readAug 14, 2016

--

There is no dignity for labour in India. As I stand in my kitchen in the early morning before 8am, I watch the workers on a construction site right opposite my home how they concrete the top floor of the building. I need to mention it is the Sunday of a long Independence Day weekend and it was pouring rain while they hurried to finish.

Observations from the construction site opposite my home:

Since a couple of months now, I observe the workers and their children living and working under these hard conditions. My heart feels heavy every time I look out of my kitchen window towards them. They have hardly food and enough clothes and live temporarily in the same house that they are constructing for someone else. Today morning no warm meal was waiting for them after get got the job done. They only tried to find a dry spot in the unfinished floors below the one on which they were working on.

I don’t think the house owner cares how the construction company he hired treats its workers. And I bet the company would always defend itself by saying “this is how we always get the job done”.

When thinking about the scene, it comes to my mind that India is rising on the back of those worker bees – the courier boy, logistics boy, construction boy, cooking boy and maids.

Still there is a dislike towards their dignity. While they do all the ‘dirty’ work to try to earn a decent wage, the truth is that most people don’t show them the slightest respect. I’ve seen how the most educated Indians treat their domestic staff, flight attendants or waiters. I personally have no understanding for this hangover from the caste system where people pity the ones performing menial work.

I don’t even start on the use of the word please – which is the minimum courtesy to add when expecting a service to be done. I hardly hear it from anyone.

In India we can order everything to our doorstep. There is no struggle to get anything done at home - be it ordering a plumber (via Urbanclap), groceries (via Grofers) or a healthy affordable meal (via Innerchef). Technology causes disruptions that make the customers lives easier.

But as in my example of the house owner, I believe no ones really cares how these jobs are getting done.

I didn’t had to step out on this rainy Sunday and still am able to pamper myself. Grofers delivered my groceries and Innerchef my desserts. It struck me today when opening the door and I was looking at the delivery guy who was drenched from the monsoon rain. In the summer heat I offered a glass of water. Now with the rain they go through much more stress.

These Delhi roads are the obstacles which delivery guys face during monsoon:

When interacting with delivery guys, there are a few gestures that can make it a respectful one:

  • Patience, please! Be kind, if they are late. Don’t forget it’s raining outside, accidents can happen easily and we’re in India where rain means chaos on the roads. And no, if they are late they can’t give you a discount or anything extra in such a situation. They are only the delivery guy.
  • Use basic etiquette! When you’re opening the door, put down your phone. You have decent manners, so please greet them with a smile.
  • Before opening the door, please put pants on.

And while you have the luxury to order in, first and foremost be remembered:

  • They are humans tooTIP them! There are fantastic customers and there are terrible ones — the delivery guy can’t choose and caters to all of them. They are someone’s son and husband, who are driving around in the downpours to satisfy you — their customers. You would feel for them, if you would be related to one of them. While they shiver in the rain, not even wearing appropriate clothes for this weather, they work long days to make ends meet.

The world is not a cruel place. We have daily the opportunity to show kindness from the doorstep of our own homes. Yes, tips don’t replace courtesy, but it’s a gesture that can make someone’s day. Be the ONE fantastic customer who makes the delivery guy’s day!

There is always time for kindness.

Happy Sunday,
Antje

___
If you enjoyed reading this article, I would appreciate
it if you hit the button. Spread the love.

_
Antje is a communications strategist running
The Create Labs, a digital design studio. She’s also the organizer of TEDxGurugram. Living and working in an emerging market is an extremely mind- and heart-expanding experience for her. With TEDxGurugram she likes to give back to a country that has given her so much growth.

--

--

Antje Pfahl

Explorer, Creator, Connector. Communications Strategist. Global citizen.