C++ is Russian literature

Anton Kovalyov
Programming Is a Nightmare
1 min readOct 13, 2014

--

From the interview with Jodi Picoult:

The one genre I absolutely cannot stand is Russian literature. You need genealogy charts to just figure out the characters, every novel is a thousand pages and pretty much everyone dies. One year my son went on a Russian lit kick and tried to get me to read some Tolstoy, but I just couldn’t. Life’s too short.

Now let’s do our trick and replace a few words in the above quote:

The one language I absolutely cannot stand is C++. You need genealogy charts to just figure out the classes, every program is a thousand pages and pretty much everyone dies. One year my colleague went on a C++ kick and tried to get me to read some Gecko code, but I just couldn’t. Life’s too short.

--

--