How to onboard Raspberry PI on Azure Sentinel

Antonio Formato
7 min readAug 7, 2019

Cloud data logging with Raspberry PI

The Raspberry Pi is a low cost, credit-card sized computer developed by the Raspberry Pi Foundation. Several generation of Raspberry Pis have been released. All models feature a Broadcom chip with an integrated ARM-compatible CPU. The Raspberry Pi foundation provides Raspbian, a Debian based Linux distribution. Other Operating Systems are available as well: (Ubuntu, Windows 10 IoT Core, FreeBSD, ArchLinux, CentOS, etc).

Several accessories are available to extend Raspberry capabilities and allow to implements tens or hundreds use cases. Among the most important areas, I cannot fail to mention following use cases:

  • Use in education
  • Use in industrial automation
  • Use in home automation

I decided to use my Raspberry Pi in my home local network with security related features:
1) Pi-Hole to block network ad-serving domains (great article here)

2) Open VPN terminator.

My device runs Raspbian Stretch.

In order to monitor Raspberry Pi health and get power from log data locally stored on my device, I decided to process syslog data on Microsoft Azure Sentinel service. I will publish a new article about what value can I extract from my Raspberry log data, mainly related to cybersecurity of my home LAN.

--

--