7 Signs You Need to Quit Your Job

Anupama Mathew
3 min readNov 8, 2021

--

A young woman, sitting at her work desk, with her head in her hands. The image is used to depict stress at work.
Image by Hatice EROL from Pixabay

I’ve been there, and maybe you’ve been too. Worse, you are living out the scenario now, unsure whether to stay or leave.

It’s been a few months since I quit my 5-months old job, but I still remember the exhaustion that followed every minute I stayed on. I decided to leave, and I’m convinced I made the right choice.

Here are 7 signs that might help you make up your mind to reach the right decision for you:

1. Your work isn’t challenging:

It’s hard when you have to do work that doesn’t push your mind to its limits. I know the pain. I had reached my breaking point working my previous 9-hour job. Ironically though, I was under pressure not because of the heavy workload. Instead, I was tired due to the monotonous work.

2. You are underutilized and undervalued:

It can be demotivating if your skills and strengths aren’t being put into good use. It can be more challenging if your ideas are not accepted. Or if all your hard work is never recognized or appreciated. This can very well cause you to doubt yourself and your abilities.

3. You are overworked and underpaid:

Know your value! I can’t stress this enough. You are worth more than the crappy salary you are being paid. If you are expected to burn the candle on both ends and not be compensated on par with the work you do, it’s time you started looking elsewhere.

4. You are micromanaged or mismanaged:

When your every action is constantly monitored by your superiors, it restricts your freedom in the workplace. This creates a negative impact on you. So can lack of effective communication and clear direction. Mismanagement and micromanagement can make you distrust your employers.

5. You are stuck in a toxic work culture:

If your workplace is riddled with employees who don’t trust each other, are lazy, or are unhappy, the work environment can be very toxic. It’s essential to get as far away as is possible from such a situation. Or the stress will eventually catch up to you.

6. You are physically or mentally exhausted:

Does your job require you to sit for long, tiring hours? Does it involve a great deal of mad stress? If yes, you probably don’t get enough time to detox your body and mind. This is a sign that most people chalk up to the nature of their work, but one that can cause significant problems down the line.

7. You lack the work-life balance you imagined:

It’s so important to keep your personal and professional lives separate. When you are at work, give your best to the job you are paid to do. When you are away from work, give your all to yourself and your loved ones. If you are expected to work on holidays, you will miss out on living your life.

When I started taking notice of all these red flags that had been staring right at me, I knew I had to leave. I can only hope the same for my fellow humans who feels stuck and helpless in their job.

Some employers don’t care about you. You are merely the means to padding their pockets. When a job fails to provide you with professional and personal growth, you should look out for better opportunities coming along your way.

Don’t ever let anyone take you for granted! Just know that you are more than your job. You are someone who has aspirations, and you have the right to put your needs first without feeling guilty about it. So, if you don’t like where you are right now, it’s time for you to take action and bid goodbye to your employer.

--

--

Anupama Mathew

I’m a content creator and social media manager exploring everyday life themes through words and graphics. You can see my work at anupamamathew.framer.website