Takeaways from The Wild Robot by Peter Brown

Anu Aravamudhan
2 min readJan 27, 2023

--

The Wild Robot (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26030734-the-wild-robot) is a heartwarming story about a journey of a robot in the wild. This is one of those children’s books that would resonate with adult readers as well. My 8-year-old introduced the book to me as “technology and nature combined”. Here are my 3 takeaways from this wonderful book.

Kindness can even make robots thrive

Roz the robot, incorporates kindness, first as a survival skill. But quickly realizes that kindness brought her close to other animals, and her family and even made her ‘smile’. The book is a great reminder of how acts of kindness and building relationships can make this world a better place.
From The Wild Robot

From The Wild Robot

Drawing can improve writing

Peter Brown calls himself a “picture book guy” and then goes ahead and writes this wonderful book with 80 chapters full of words :). He mentions that he made this sketch below and found it so moving that he had to use it. So, he rewrote the end of chapter 53. It is hands down my favorite illustration from the book and one of the best parts of the story.

From the peterbrownstudio.com

Next time I get stuck while writing, I could try drawing (well, scribbling in my case) a visual representation of my thoughts.

My kiddo has great taste :)

This book was his recommendation. I loved discussing the book with him and sharing our favorite parts and he in turn enjoyed seeing my reaction to some parts of the book. Looking forward to more of his recommendations!

--

--

Anu Aravamudhan

Writing is a new found passion, it helps me channelize my emotions and thoughts. I write about my interests, inspiration, indulgences and anything worth sharing