BoredChef
2 min readMay 7, 2020

--

LAZY VEGAN MAPO TOFU

Like many people during this COVID lock down, I have turned to cooking as a source of stimulation. What other options are there? Its either this or gaming. Not to mention, I went down the takeout and delivery route and that stuff adds up fast. So when I can make a meal in the comfort of my home for $2 a serving and have the freedom to modify it as per my preferences, why would I order that same dish for $16 and then pay another $3.5 for delivery??

MAPO TOFU is a dish from the Sichuan province of China. I’m not Chinese so don’t come at me but I really do enjoy Sichuan food so I thought I would take a crack at it. My partner tries to be vegan so I decided to attempt making a vegan version and it turned out hella tasty if I do say so myself.

Vegan Mapo Tofu and egg fried rice

PREP TIME:- 10 mins

COOK TIME :- 30 mins

INGREDIENTS:-

  1. Silken(soft) Tofu. 250 grams
  2. Chilli black bean paste
  3. Sichuan peppercorns(coarsely ground)
  4. Mushrooms(any kind should be okay). 100–150 grams
  5. Ginger
  6. Garlic
  7. Sesame oil
  8. Light soy sauce
  9. Chinese cooking wine
  10. Salt
  11. Vegetable broth

PROCEDURE:-

  1. Dice silken tofu. Boil water and add salt. Once water reaches boiling point, add silken tofu and boil for 8 mins. This helps firm up the tofu
  2. Chop 5 cloves of garlic and a knob of ginger .(finely diced)
  3. Finely dice mushrooms. Add one table spoon of chinese cooking wine and one table spoon of light soya sauce. Mix well so that mushrooms are coated.
  4. Add 2–3 tablespoons of sesame oil to a hot pan.
  5. Add in the ginger and garlic and fry till light brown.
  6. Add the mushrooms and sauté for about 2–3 minutes
  7. Add 1.5 table spoons of black chilli bean paste and 1 tablespoon of Sichuan peppercorns. Can add more or less depending on preferred spice level
  8. Sauté till all ingredients in pan become coated in red.
  9. Add in the vegetable broth and let it simmer for a minute.
  10. Add salt to taste
  11. Add in silken tofu and cook till liquid is reduced by 50 percent
  12. Take off heat. Serve and enjoy.

--

--