Lesson Learned While Sweeping Broken Glass

Anya Klis
Dec 13, 2021

--

a broken glass
Photo by Sandip Kalal on Unsplash

Last Saturday we were at a friend’s house to move some furniture. When we shifted one rack we discovered heaps of glass on the floor behind it.

“Well, you know guys, sometimes I break something and have no way to clean it up,” stated Tina in her usual cheerful manner. She is disabled and her mobility is much limited.

This statement, like nothing before, made me realize what her everyday reality looks like. Preparing a meal is a mission impossible. Yet, she never complains and is always full of joy.

I think about it a lot these days and I am grateful. For two legs that carry me whenever I want to go. Two arms that let me prepare meals for our family. Or clean up the glass when it’s broken.

--

--

Anya Klis

Wellbeing. Nature. Little things. Writing is sharing, so let's enrich each other.