Why I ditched Eyelash Curler and Extensions…

Ms. Tried and Tested
5 min readJul 9, 2019

--

If there is one thing in a woman’s face that makes most women feel instantly beautiful, it’s curled eyelashes.

An eyelash curler is a staple in my makeup kit. I’m not naturally blessed with long thick and curled lashes. I would say mine are just average. With the help of a curler and a mascara, my lashes can look really good. I rarely use mascara nowadays coz I find it tedious to remove at the end of the day so curling my lashes does the trick.

Few years ago, when getting an eyelash extension was a hype, I spent a lot of money to have one and get it retouched on a regular basis. The eyelash extension really does wonder on how I look. I felt really pretty even without makeup and it looks really good in pictures. The downside aside from its high-maintenance is that I almost ran out of natural lashes. Whenever I get fake lash fall-outs, there will always be a good amount of natural lashes that come with it. It also made it difficult for me to sleep and wash my face coz I had to be conscious in protecting my eye area so I don’t get a lot of fall-outs.

I eventually stopped getting an eyelash extension, decided to grow back my natural lashes and retreat back to my good old eyelash curler. Now the problem with a curler is that you have to keep using it after every few hours when the curl is wearing off ( water from shower or perspiration can easily bring it back to its normal “direction “). Eyelash curlers can also be uncomfortable to use if you aren’t used to it and can weaken your lashes because of the constant contraptions.

Now here comes a discovery… I have learned from a cousin of mine an eyelash perming kit that you can DIY at home. I have noticed how her eyelashes are pretty and curled even after a swim on the beach.

The product is called LASH LIFT from CouCou. I got it from Lazada at P750. Actually, you can buy a cheaper kit which is practically the same as the one I got but different packaging. In Shopee, there are kits that you can get at P400. My cousin used the LASHLIFT kit from Iconsign which is cheaper but does the same thing. The only reason why I got the expensive kit is that I was afraid that it might have a bad reaction on my eye ( and eye is one of the body parts I do not want to mess with) so I bought the one that is most expensive yet has the best review. If you are not in the Philippines, I’m pretty sure there is a different lash perming kit popular in your country if not the same one as the one I got.

I had my cousin apply it on me. It is really recommended that you have another person do it for you rather than you doing it yourself coz you would need to close your eyes when applying it so it becomes a challenge working on it with only one eye open.

I have to be honest, I fell asleep during the process. There is a calming feeling when your lashes are being brushed up with the glue. I woke-up the next morning and my lashes were wide and curled. There were a few glue marks ( I think) that dried up and I had to brush it off with a spooly but other than that, I did not feel any irritation.

It has been a few days since I had my lashes permed and it looks just as how it was right after perming. I also don’t feel the need to be extra careful when washing my face, often times, I forget I even had a lash perm coz it feels very natural.

No, it doesn’t have any synthetic or fake lashes glued like how the eyelash extensions are. It’s all your natural lashes, only difference is that it’s permed.

The product claims that the kit will last you 15–20 more usage and that each use can last 2–3 months. Well, we will see about that.

Over-all, I’m very happy with this product. It didn’t cause any irritation. The product was applied on the lashes and rarely touched my skin. The instructions are very easy to understand and follow. I didn’t have the need to use my eyelash curler again after I had my lashes permed and to top it off, it’s very affordable since the content of the kit is for multiple applications.

I highly recommend this for those wanting to get semi-permanent curled lashes. This product gets the job done and the result is instant. 😊

Originally published at https://anyluckypenne.tumblr.com on July 9, 2019.

--

--

Ms. Tried and Tested
0 Followers

An unbiased and first-hand review on beauty, food, travel and everything under the sun. Follow my blog at www.anyluckypenne.tumblr.com