Groww SDE Intern-Frontend| Interview Experience | Off-Campus Hiring 2024

Omkar Anabathula
4 min readApr 22, 2024

--

I got to know from a LinkedIn post that Groww is hiring interns for its frontend team, I promptly filled the gform and was waiting for the next steps.

Groww is an investing platform where users can find the best mutual funds to invest in and can invest their money without any hassles. The company was launched in 2017 and It has achieved a unicorn status now and is considered one of the top Fintech startups in India.

After the resume shortlisting, I was given an assignment in which I had to create a Checkout Gateway within the time limit of 3 days, which was a decent time for the given task. However due to some issues with deployment, I submitted the assignment 2 days late stating appropriate reasons and problems faced.

The skill set required in order to complete the assignment was:

  1. Next.js
  2. State Management tools (Redux/ContextAPI)
  3. Responsive UI Design
  4. Good Javascript Knowledge
  5. React Routing and Rest APIs
  6. Hosting on Netlify, Vercel, etc.

After the Submission of the assignment, around April first week, I got a call that my assignment was shortlisted and now I am proceeding to the technical interview round. Since my college internal exams were also going at that time, I requested my faculty to take my exam in the next week.

Round 1

I had 2 days for the preparation of the technical round. The Interview started with a general introduction from both sides, some discussion about the company, and a few basic questions to make me comfortable in the beginning.

The interviewer was supportive and friendly. It started with Assignment Discussion (You need to have a clear understanding of the code that you’ve submitted in the assignment). He asked me what are the improvements can be done. He pointed out some of the alternative ways to make a particular feature in my assignment and also asked to give a walkthrough of the deployed site.
The discussion and questions were in this manner —

  • What is difference between async and differ?
  • What is CSR and SSR?
  • Difference in let, var & const.
  • What is lazy loading?
  • Gave js code snippet and asked me to guess its output. It was based on the event loop and message queue. Later he also asked me to explain how event loop works in js.
  • Gave another js code snippet and asked me to guess its output. It was a tricky one based on setTimeout & difference in scope of var & let variable in javascript.
function snippet() {
for (var i = 0; i < 5; i++) {
setTimeout(() => {
console.log(i);
}, 3000);
}
}
snippet();
  • I was supposed to guess the output and suggest two approaches such that it prints 0,1,2,3…
  • Towards the end he asked me to code a login feature, such that the credentials are stored in the local storage & they get expired after a certain period of time.

At this point, more than 1.5 hr was already completed, and for all the questions, I’d to code on codeSandBox with the screen being shared.

The interview was wrapped up with a question asked by me about the tech stacks which groww uses and tech stacks he is working on.

After almost 2–3 days, I received a call from HR that I have cleared the technical interview and the last round was scheduled.

Round 2

It was a culture fitment round. The interviewer was very chill, and we had a conversation about questions like:-

  • Why do I want to join groww?
  • How was my experience in the previous round? And which were the difficult moments?
  • If I am having multiple offers from top startups like CRED, Zepto and Groww which one I’d choose and why.
  • About my Development journey and my projects.
  • What do I prefer WFO or WFH.

The round was about 30 minutes long and we discussed many things offtopic as well. It was all about how well you can hold on a conversation. The next week I recieved call that I have been selected and was sent offer letter the same day 🥳🎉!!

Preparation Tips :-

  • Must Watch Namaste Javascript and Core Javascript Fundaments by Akshay Saini Youtube Channel.
  • If the interview is based on ReactJS, do practice problems related to Machine Coding.
  • Go through interview experiences and JS interview questions videos.
  • Research About the Company prior the interview.
  • Be confident of the code that you’ve written.
  • In the interview, Explain your complete thought process for the question asked, and not just the final output.
  • Keep the session interactive and think out loud while answering.

Wishing you all the best for your interview prep! I put together my very first article, hoping it gives you a boost. If you dig it, throw a like and share your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on LinkedIn or Twitter if you need more tips.
Thanks for checking it out. Cheers!

Regards,
Omkar Anabathula

--

--