T –Shape In Every Era Of My Life

Nour Aoun
4 min readFeb 18, 2018

--

Here’s my story

Shang Tsung from Mortal Kombat in case you didn’t know. He can transform into anyone.

Traditional marketing vs modern marketing

Let’s start with: « I never knew I was going to end up working in the marketing department of a company »

Since I was a little girl, music and painting were my passion. I spent 7 years studying music and during most of them I enjoyed tutoring. Overall, music was my thing, my hobby. Art was going to be my career.

Therefore, deciding which field of study to choose was extremely clear.

Art and painting: that was the answer.

Some of my painting collection: African, nature and dreamy themes

I found myself enrolling to be a Bachelor in Advertising at the “Academie des Beaux Arts” and pursuing a Masters in Multimedia and Web design.

I was painting during my days off, giving French tutoring lessons for kids, volunteering at social events, doing charity work during summers and performing some freelance Web design job to various local clients. Different interests which all together helped me in my social interaction in everyday life. And you never stop learning. Different jobs, different statuses, different environments: All of this teaches you to count on yourself, be strong, know your weaknesses, be grateful and always want to grow more.

Some of the freelance projects I was lucky to work on: The HEAT medical banner

My vision was broader, being just another “designer” wasn’t enough for me. My degrees were just a kickoff for what I wanted my future career to be like.

Some university web-design projects

The possibility of what the word “Digital” could mean was intriguing to me. At the time, digital apps like Whatsapp had gained popularity in Lebanon. I knew that a digital future was inescapable.

My experiences as a T- shaped marketer made me more interesting and unique to business companies. They did not want to deal with a person who only had linear thinking as was only good at doing one single task. Being able to juggle daily requirements and learn new skills at the same time was important to both me and them. Was it tiring, definitely? Was it worth it? Absolutely since individuals who have detailed knowledge of their own specialty as well as a broad understanding of other marketing areas are in high demand today.

I still have a long way to go, whether in marketing, or another “dream” function that will require T-person abilities.

Business enterprises realize that the only way to have great teams is to invest in them and their education. Marketing leaders will need to change the way they manage teams and create an eco-system of collaboration, innovation, education and self-drive.

Does housework count as a T-shape component? Just kidding

Check out Chris More’s T-shape story! Click here

Find me on Twitter: @omg_nour

--

--