5 Things that I learnt from Rajiv Talreja

Aparna Gautam
2 min readFeb 10, 2019

As a working professional, initially I was apprehensive about how to relate to the Business P.A.C.E. program that was primarily meant for business owners. But I was pleasantly surprised at all the lovely things I learnt and saved in my kitty which are genuinely helpful for my personal and professional life.

  1. Success is shabby!

As a working mother who is on a path of leadership and change management, it was extremely hard to be at peace with my house which was always in a mess. But you know what? Now that I have accepted that success is shabby, I am able to handle the mess more peacefully and surprisingly my house is much better organized.

2. Version one is better than version none.

This one was such a beautiful eye opener. How many of us agree that we wouldn’t even take a step forward towards something that excites us just because we feel we are not 100% prepared or it is not going to be perfect yet? Rajiv broke down evils of perfection in this event. Being a perfectionist is a roadblock and is a clear enemy of progress.

3. Clarity

The power of clarity is crucial in all relationships and dynamics of our lives. It truly shot the idea of the unrealistic expectations of “he/she doesn’t understand me”. This person can be a colleague, your reportee, spouse, parents or even our children. Making them understand is our responsibility. Making the expectations from the relationship absolutely clear to all the stakeholders is our responsibility. Wow! It does take away the strain that we place on ourselves and our relationships by not taking the onus of providing clarity.

4. Motivation is irrelevant.

Skill development and knowledge over motivation. We lack motivation during moments when we fear failure or underestimate ourselves. Knowledge and skill development efforts will take care of lack of motivation. You will be more sure of yourselves and the results you are capable of producing.

5. Marketing is not a one-time wonder. It is consistent strategizing and effort. (Read magnetic.)

Well I can’t give away all the learnings here but I am honestly grateful to everyone who is responsible behind me having attended the program.

So here is me promising to keep my energies up and be open to learning and growing.

Thank you for everything, Rajiv!

--

--

Aparna Gautam

Poet | Author | Serial Smiler | Head - Business Development | Mother | Grateful Daughter | Multitasker | Heart | Leadership