Healing our Gun Culture

Jeffrey Scholl
4 min readApr 28, 2023

I was reading the news headlines this morning and saw yet another story of a tragic shooting; this time of a man who had an argument with a neighbor apparently over the use of a leaf blower in his own front yard.

This is the latest of a string of recent shootings that seem to be on the rise in the United States. There have been many to describe what we have created in this country as a “gun culture.”

In my opinion, that is partly true. We certainly have significantly more gun deaths than most of our peer countries.

This is not yet another diatribe though on the evils of guns or even gun owners. I am a registered gun owner and have owned guns most of my life, used them while serving in the military, for hunting when I was younger and now mostly have them primarily for target shooting. I am not necessarily emotionally attached to them or believe they somehow protect me from my government. This is a fear-based illusion and rationalized justification.

From a metaphysical perspective, we create what we are…vibrationally. We see the reflection of what we are in the world, meaning the signals we are sending out. We are getting a stronger and stronger call to heal that which drives our gun culture…which is really our fear, anger and hate.

To support this concept, I remembered a meditation study conducted in Washington D.C. in June, 1993. As noted in the linked article, the city experienced an unprecedented drop in its violent crime rate of 23.3%. It was noted that the “statistical probability that this result could reflect chance variation in crime levels was less than 2 in 1 billion.”

Perhaps what we must do collectively across our nation is a similar exercise. We must use the Power of Meditation and Prayer to gather together and pray for Peace in our country.

Anger does not heal us. It only makes things worse; even righteous anger.

For us to truly heal as a country, we have to heal what causes us to be angry and stop “feeding the beast.”

As I’ve written about before, many of our mass media organizations intentionally stoke the fires of anger within us all…as was revealed in why Fox News allowed conspiracy theories about election technology to be broadcast, because as in Rupert Murdoch’s own words, “the lies were good for Fox’s business.”

I know people who watch the news and get up from it, angry and yet don’t understand that no matter if they consume left or right wings news, if what they are consuming is causing them to feel angry, they are being manipulated.

We have to be willing to come together as a country and focus our energies on peace, instead of anger; to base our voting decisions on what is good for the collective whole instead of what is just good for us individually.

We are all connected energetically whether we realize it or not and as more of us take our own healing seriously, we help heal the collective soul that connects all of us.

I am taking my own advice and now working with my original spiritual life coach, Hu Dalconzo after almost twenty years from when I started with him in 2004 to help root out old anger and fears I still had unconsciously repressed. As I wrote about in my book, “A Path to Peace: A Reluctant Spiritual Journey,” each layer I surface and heal provides me insight into why my life has manifested the way it has and allows me to feel more peaceful about my present and future.

I think if anger could truly heal our world, we would have achieved that over the past 6 years as it seems like it has been increasing. Perhaps it’s time we use the energy of Peace instead.

To do this, we must be willing to release everything within us which is rooted in anger, fear and hate and replace it with love, understanding and compassion.

When the energies of love, understanding, compassion and peace guide our actions, we will realize solutions that either aren’t obvious to us now or don’t seem realistic. But as we collectively heal, we will change our reality.

There are many who want to stop us from changing because change threatens their status quo; be it of money or power. But as we’ve seen in the past couple of weeks, the violence is now touching us all and now is the time for us to change, no matter whose boat it rocks.

I’m working on change by changing me, by healing me and by writing about it. What are you doing to change and heal?

Namaste

Jeff

© 2023. All rights reserved.

Jeff Scholl is a Certified Spiritual Life Coach through Holistic Learning Centers and a Board-Certified Holistic Health Practitioner through the American Association of Drugless Practitioners.

Learn more at: https://www.apathtopeace.org/

#JeffreySchollCSLC

#USNavyVeteran

#CertifiedSpiritualLifeCoach

#MetaphysicalTeacher

#MetaphysicalWriter

#EmotionalHealing

#SpiritualGrowth

#Freedom

#Peace

#APathtoPeace

#AppliedMetaphysics

--

--