Assessing the Apocalypse #2

The Lady Who Sat Next to Me During “Rise of Skywalker”

Alex Perez
3 min readDec 17, 2023
Wise Bitter Hermit Vibes

Let’s start by saying this critic tilts towards the moderate-casual end of Star Wars enjoyment. I grew up with it, followed the series, went to see Clone Wars in theaters on Prom; I enjoy Star Wars. More than like, less than love.

Yet no matter where on the infinite spectrum of the fandom one falls, it’s impossible not to acknowledge that the modern movie trilogy had it’s foibles (to put it diplomatically).

That said, I’m not here to dropkick J.J with another online screed. This is about one of the many instances a stranger, who was doing nothing more than existing as themselves, had an impact on the way I view the world.

In my immediate family, Christmas means a double feature at the movies. The 2019 holiday saw a hiccup in tradition as I had unfortunately dropped a full glass bottle of olive oil on my big toe. As a result, the outing was abbreviated from family affair to only my father and I a couple days later.

We get to the local Regal, grab some refreshments, and take a seat in the very full theater. Next to me is a an older woman whose age I don’t wish to speculate on, but suffice to say it was evident she had a good deal of experience under her belt.

The flick begins, and my media analysis poisoned brain begins to cross it’s arms in haughty anticipation for how Monsieur Abrams would stick the landing that our lord and savior Rian Johnson had so nicely set him up for. This did not happen, but something else did that was quite remarkable.

This woman next to me, who I’ll name Dot, was 100% sold on every little thing that was being presented by the movie. No outrage over where she thought the story could have gone. Completely free of expectation.

If the characters were facing any sort of peril, she yelped in genuine concern. The slightest close-call most of us wouldn’t flinch at elicited electrifying reactions. Double crosses telegraphed from miles away were met with gasps. Harrowing sequences that turn out to be hallucinations elicit sighs of relief.

I felt my brow start to furrow when a digitally de-aged Luke and Leia take the screen but no sooner did my judgement begin than her voice reached me as she whispered to her husband “They look so young!”. I melted.

Allow me to take this moment to say that I don’t believe that this person is enjoying the movie to a “lesser” degree. I do not think Dot is dumb and earnestly believes the good guys are going to be offed 35 minutes in to the 3 hour film. Dot has probably seen a movie before, some would argue she was there at the advent of the “Talkie”. Now here she is seeing Carrie Fisher and Mark Hamill swim against the tides of time, albeit sort of rough looking. It’s a god damn miracle!

My brain laid down it’s arms. I can’t resist Dot’s pure enjoyment of going to the movies. Like a vampire being extinguished by the sun, my cynicism dissipated and remained so through to the end and I actually wound up having a lot of fun, all things considered. I wouldn’t be able to achieve this by myself, whether she knew it or not, I couldn’t have done it without Dot.

We did both groan when Rei and Kylo kissed. Like I said, she’s not dumb.

I give The Lady Who Sat Next to Me During “Rise of Skywalker” a score of
5 Star Wars Holiday Specials out of 5.

Art by MediumHarsh (me!)

Check out the last review here!

--

--

Alex Perez

Medium won't stop bothering me so I'm typing something here so it will stop.