iPhone XR Repair & iPhone XR Screen Replacement

Fixit Phone
2 min readAug 23, 2023

iPhone XR Repair — How can I repair my iPhone XR by myself?

I dropped my iPhone XR and both the front and back cracked. I don’t have Apple care so bringing to the genius bar is not an option. I got a quote from a third party repair store but it’s still expensive. I got the iPhone XR because it was the cheapest of the newest phones. So I decided to go to online and see if there was any DIY videos and iPhone XR repair by myself

First Thing Needed Is iPhone XR Repair kit

The first thing I found out was the special tools I would need. Apparently the iPhone XR repair requires special screwdrivers that you can’t but from the local hardware store. I had to purchase a repair kit specifically for the iPhone X, it wasn’t expensive though. The next thing I need to purchase was a replacement screen. I found out that there were a couple different grades of quality and I decided to get the cheapest one. To my surprise and disappointment none of the screens that are sold online are genuine Apple parts. This made me a little nervous but there was no other option. I found out Apple and all the other manufacturers don’t sell any of their parts to the public. I purchased the screen that had a warranty and looked for the easiest to follow DIY video.

iPhone XR Repair Guide

Repairing the screen was not difficult but it’s very important to be patient and follow the video. Many of the parts from the old screen need to be transferred to the new screen. This was the most difficult part because of the adhesive they use. I had to use my hair dryer to heat up the glue so it was easy to remove. I was really careful and you need to be. If you rip any of the cables you can disable the facial recognition and worse, disable the phone. The iPhone XR screen repair is not impossible but it is time consuming. The repair took over an hour to complete and that was just the front screen.

iPhone XR Back Glass Replacement

The back glass was cracked and after researching how to repair it, it’s going to stay cracked. There is no easy repair for the cracked back glass. The glue they use is impossible to remove by yourself. You can replace the whole frame but it’s not recommended.
All in all it cost me less to fix it myself. If you’re not good with small tools and don’t have good hand-eye coordination I don’t recommend doing it. I got a good case that covers the back so for now it looks good.

--

--

Fixit Phone
0 Followers

We repair all Apple, Android, Smart Phones and Windows as well as Tablets, Laptops and Desktops too!