Say No to “Smart”, “App”, “Cookies”, and “Touchscreens”

a place of mind
5 min readSep 1, 2022

Obviously not all the time, but increasingly in many places ↓

The following are 4 of my unpopular opinions about the “modern” tech. I’m worried that tech companies are becoming (have become) marketing giants that don’t respect even the most basic UI and privacy principles.

1. No Physical Buttons? Not interested.

I don’t understand the rush to put everything inside touch screens. It works in some cases like mobile phones, but inside a car I want full control over the vehicle, and part of that is through touching buttons and knowing what they do based on their locations and shape. The same thing goes for home appliances (fridge, oven, etc.)

Tesla’s touchscreen is a big no for me. Photo

2. Works only with your App? No, thank you.

Lately, I wanted to buy backlight LED strip lights and I found that a lot of them can be controlled only through an app! In some cases, the vendor offers the good old remote control as a feature for which you should pay more. There are a few things wrong with using a device that can only be controlled using an app:

--

--