My Controversial Opinion: Ventura Is Apple’s Worst macOS Yet

a place of mind
6 min readJan 26, 2023

Apple Treats macOS as if it’s iOS

Let’s face it: macOS is a desktop operating system (OS), and should always stay that way. But Apple’s recent changes to macOS make it look and feel like a toy OS that tries to mimic iOS. I recently wrote about one of such changes (checkboxes replaced with switch buttons). But now that I have used the latest macOS version (Ventura) for quite some time, I’m sad to announce that this is the first time ever that I regret upgrading.

Obviously, your mileage may differ, but my experience with Ventura has been full of “damn, why did they do that?” moments. We used to know Mac as an intuitive, user-friendly system that gets out of our way and just works. Well, Ventura also just works, except that it works against your convenience. I’ll give you an example:

Plug-and-Play is Gone. Plug-and-NoPlay is In.

On Ventura, every time you plug in a new USB device to your Mac, a small box pops up, asking for your permission to connect the device. While it might make sense to do so for USB flash drives, it also happens even if you plug in just a mouse or a keyboard! Apple has successfully failed at this one simple task. Why break something that already works?

Apple pulled a Microsoft by producing a half-baked broken macOS Ventura.

--

--