SPORTS CARD COLLECTING GOING DIGITAL?

Apollo
8 min readMay 26, 2023

--

PART III: Collectability on NFL All Day

Yall do yalls thing

BUT

If you have made it this far, either your interest has been piqued and enjoy what have you read so far or you know me and just being nice! Either way, much appreciated! So, collectability. Why do you collect certain things? Maybe you love the beach and travel to different ones across the country and collect shells from each. Perhaps you are a football enthusiast and love collecting memorabilia. Maybe you grew up with Pokémon and collecting those items brings back great childhood memories. Basically, if you are a collector — the things collected are special and have meaning to you and every single person will have a different perspective on how and why they collect.

Photo by Thimo Pedersen on Unsplash

Now how do you go about your collecting strategy. To each its own and these strategies will differ for every collector. Do you love the thrill and excitement as well as the gamble of ripping packs or would you rather spend your money on a specific card that you know you want in your collection? What about specific brands — you only like the way these cards are presented and the other brands just don’t match up. Are you a top end spender that looks for those ‘special’ cards that are hard to find and come by? Maybe just a small end spender that looks for quantity over quality. The point being collecting strategies come in many different shapes and sizes BUT all of them are needed for the industry to succeed.

In NFL All Day, this same concept applies. Collecting strategies will differ. But I will go in to why I personally collect these moments and reasons/strategies behind it:

1. Moment based content

2. Set collecting

3. Team collecting

MOMENT BASED CONTENT

Think back to cardboard. These still shot photos. Now I understand collector cards are jazzed up and have cool looking designs, but at the end of the day, it is still a photo of the player. I am going to use Jamarr Chase in this example. His rookie season, September 12, 2001, Week 1 of the 2001 NFL Season. Playing against the Vikings, Chase lines up on the outside, sprints down the field and catches a beautiful 50-yard pass from Joe Burrow to record his first NFL touchdown. Now maybe there is a sports card of his that is of this play. If there is, maybe it is a picture of him running down the field, maybe it’s him catching the ball, or even him in the endzone celebrating. But my point being, it can’t be all three. But guess what? With NFL All Day, you get to see the entire play unfold. Not only is this a “rookie moment” but it is Jamarr Chase’s first career touchdown catch in the NFL… How cool is that? Definitely a collectible piece for any Bengals fan but a general football fan in general. Jamarr Chase is a generational talent at the wide receiver position.

So, in my mind, that moment All Day has created is a true collectible piece with this digital technology. With that type of content in these moments, for me personally, some of the first pieces I bought on the marketplace were of those rookies first touchdown moments including the likes of Jaylen Waddle, DeVonta Smith, and Najee Harris. What is more memorable (collectible) than the moment a rookie scores his first touchdown in the league? His introduction to the league. Collecting based off the content of the moment is an advantage over still pictures on cardboard. Oh cool, you have the picture of him in the endzone of his first td, I have the whole highlight!

SET COLLECTING

Another form of collectability on the platform is through sets. Sets are exactly what you probably think they are in collecting terms. A set is a series of collectibles that have a common theme. Every sports card company incorporates sets within a series. Maybe they provide a whole set in 1 box to purchase, or the cards could be spread out among many packs. I remember collecting basketball cards where every card in the set had the same flashy background. Opening a pack and automatically realizing it was one of those cards due to the distinctive backgrounds was always a great feeling. I simply loved that set and when one was pulled, it would go straight to my binder right next to the last one I had pulled (even if meant I had to rearrange the whole binder).

NFL All Day has incorporated these same concepts when it comes to sets. They have created themes and placed each moment in a particular set. These sets come in all different forms. There are sets within the tiers. Sets within series although some are carried over. Then within that, sets will have differing mint sizes — every moment in that set will be minted to a specific number. Example the Common set Base is minted to 10,000 whereas the common set He Called Game is minted to 6,000. I am not a huge set guy but if I do decide to start a set, I feel incomplete until that last moment of that set is complete. And that is exactly what I did early in my All Day experience.

After releasing the playoff packs that year, they went back and did a second round of pack drops for Weeks 13–18. It was the Week 13 pack drop and I was able to purchase a pack and lo and behold, I ripped the rare Justin Herbert debut moment from a standard pack. This was a big win. Young up and coming quarterback. Rare moment. Debut moment. Launch Codes set. At the time, this was one of the premier moments on the platform. So, I go back to the marketplace to see exactly what and who is in this Launch Codes set. And as you can imagine, each moment in this is set is a deep ball throw and catch. This rare set is littered with quarterbacks and wide receivers. And not only are they cool moments featuring the long ball plays, for the majority of the set, the moments are each player’s debut moments on the platform. The Launch Code set is also home of the Patrick Mahomes debut moment. The best QB in the game right now and future sure-fire Hall of Famer. While Launch Codes was the most expensive rare set (due to the Mahomes’ debut), after pulling this Herbert, I knew this had to be my first set to complete. And I just continued to chip away at it piece by piece. It took me 4 months to finally complete it, right before the season started, which was one of my goals. And that set is still intact in my collection to this day.

My Launch Code set on NFL All Day

TEAM COLLECTING

One of the other common collectability strategies is team collecting. And it makes perfect sense. Are you a die-hard fan for one of these NFL teams? Start your collection by building it out with all the moments from that team. As a Titans fan, this was also one of my collecting strategies. I want every single Tennessee Titan moment there is on the platform. I am not quite there yet but hope to be at some point before the season. The only two moments I do not own of the Titans are the two Derrick Henry legendary moments. I need them in my collection and will have them one day. But just as a fan of the team and who I root for every Sunday, I see these moments watching the games and then when they are released by All Day, I feel I have to add them to my collection. I absolutely cannot wait until the Music City Miracle moment gets minted, although I have to pray it won’t be in that Ultimate tier.

Part of my Titans Collection on NFL All Day

And while nothing has been announced by the All Day team in regards to reasons or rewards for collecting moments from your favorite teams, I would be completely shocked if nothing comes from it. This just goes back to that untapped potential for utility with these moments. Let’s say that I am one of the top collectors for Tennessee Titans moments — how cool would it be for All Day to send those top collectors to games with the possibility of special access to one of the players, or tour the facilities, or walk on the field.

So, whether you like collecting your favorite team, just specific players, or sets, the collectability factor on the All Day platform is there. Hell, their whole mantra has been constant — “collect what you love” and also NFL All Day is the “future of fandom”. And that is exactly what I would suggest to anyone joining the platform. Do not join NFL All Day looking for quick money. If you are an existing card collector and joining the space, take your time. Don’t rush your collection. Look and see what appeals to you. Because at the end of the day, you are still spending the money that you earned on these moments, make sure you are happy and comfortable with every purchase. And who knows, at some point, the strategy you go with in building your collection will pay off in ways other than monetary. You just never know what new utility All Day will release next.

But, maybe you are not big on any collecting strategy and you just want the collection to serve a purpose. Maybe you feel you need to be more interactive with your collection. Well, NFL All Day has something for you as well. Continue on to my next post where I will reintroduce gamification within All Day.

LINKS:

-Gamification on NFL All Day:

--

--

Apollo

NFL All Day collector, All Day Unlimited mod, Tennessee Titans fan