Apostolos Lampiris
1 min readJan 23, 2016

Our lovely education

Making some thoughts about the future of education.

As a teacher I could say that I have enough experience to talk about education. I completed so far 21 years as a student and 7 seven years as a teacher of a primary school. I think that I understand when my students are tired, bored or excited during a class. I can feel how they feel. Education today has a very strict format. I have to follow a tough yearly schedule to make sure that my students have been taught everything the ministry of education suggests. Unfortunately, the subjects are so many and very often I feel that I haven’t enough time to hear what my students have to say or ask to me or to other students. They didn’t have enough time to talk about their feelings, their fears, their questions, their misunderstandings, their interests… (!)

We shouldn’t make them write all these tests, we shouldn’t be allowed to make a test result decide about the future of a kid.

As an educator I think that education would be totally successful only when the students will learn with ease, fun and freely what they want to learn most. We have to make it happen. We should be just helpers in the journey of learning. Then this journey would be fascinating and students (even they are either little children or grown up people) would love to make it not to end.

Maybe then, schools would be the most lovely place of every town.