The Heart Images like a Black Hole

Samuel
2 min readNov 28, 2023

--

A comparison of the first-ever image of a black hole released this week by the Event Horizon Telescope collaboration et al. and a cardiac nuclear imaging exam. Left is the black hole, and right is a similar nuclear imaging exam of the heart showing a similar ischemic perfusion defect to the black hole. Source: https://www.dicardiology.com/content/blogs/first-image-black-hole-shows-signs-myocardial-ischemia

These images blow my mind wide open. I have always been fascinated and captivated by black holes. When the idea that all things are created equal and in a similar pattern began emerging in my thoughts, I wondered if there was a closer version of a black hole that we could actually learn something from.

When I first saw the black hole image, I have to admit that I wasn’t all that impressed. I was quite impressed by the process in which it was obtained though. The real inner impression came when seeing the above nuclear image of the heart.

There is so much that came together for me in that moment and even more doors that were opened to travel through.

If there is a black hole at the center of our being then to me that turns a whole lot of woo woo into a whole lot of wow wow.

It is not my intent to hurt anyone’s brain about the possible implications but there is one I think could help shift some perspectives.

This could well be the feeling of that void that is felt at the center of our being. That one we try to fill in different ways. What if that feeling wasn’t just something to be filled but the very cause of our existence? What if it wasn’t even meant to be filled but used as a creative cycling point to put in the old and pull out the new? What if that is why we often feel like a singularity? What if there really is more to this scene in Interstellar

Just some thoughts for fun :)

Also Interesting — “Myocardial ischemia is a lack of blood flow getting to your heart muscle. That means your heart muscle isn’t getting enough blood to do what it needs to do. Often, the cause is a collection of fat and cholesterol (plaque) that doesn’t let enough blood go through your coronary arteries.” — https://my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/17848-myocardial-ischemia

--

--

Samuel

Talk to your self, no not that one, your other self.