Roadmap to becoming a Java developer and get hired [2023]

Aravind
3 min readMar 3, 2023

--

Hi everyone, In this article, I going to share the path I followed to become a java developer. I know that as a beginner one didn’t know how to become a software developer and be placed in a good company. The resources that I am going to link in this article are also free of cost.

1. Learn Java

The first step in the process is to learn java. There are various courses on the internet to learn java, but the efficient way to learn any programming language is by practicing while learning. I learned java from Sololearn.com and codecademy.com. These two websites have hands-on practice sessions in a structured pattern. Sololearn’s website also provides you with a certificate on completion of the course.

2. Data structures and algorithms

After you become familiar with all the basics and OOPS concepts of java. The next step is to learn Data structures and algorithms. It helps in understanding the nature of the problem at a deeper level. The topics that you should cover are stack, queue, bag, union-find, priority queue, quicksort, mergesort, heapsort, BST, red-black BST, hash table, BFS, DFS, Prim, Kruskal, Dijkstra, radix sorts, tries, KMP, regexp, data compression, B-tree, suffix array and maxflow.

Algorithms-Part1 and Algorithms-Part2 are the two highly recommended courses from Coursera that I suggest you go through. Also, this course is free to access.

3. Interview preparation

The next step after you become good at data structures and algorithms, you should start your interview preparation. The mistake that everybody does is they apply for job posts right after they learned a particular language and some concepts. Interview preparation plays a vital role to be hired by a reputed company. One should spend at least one month preparing for the interview.

In my opinion, Leetcode is the best platform to practice quality interview questions for free. The problems are divided into three categories namely easy, medium, and difficult. If you are able to complete medium-level problems within 45 minutes, then you are ready to give interviews in any of the product-based companies.

4. Resume building

Resume building and interview preparation should go side by side. According to me, a good-looking resume should be within a page. The projects you add to your resume really matter. Start building small projects while learning. Participate in more hackathons and do consider adding your achievements to your resume. Refer to the following links for more project ideas and resume templates.

If you have any further questions or concerns about learning Java, you can contact me on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/in/sportivearavind/.

Thank you for reading till the end. Please give me a 👏clap if you like the article and 🚀share your views on the article in the comments. Also, follow me to get instant updates on my new articles.

If you enjoy reading my articles and would like to support my work, you can now buy me a coffee! Your support will help me to continue creating valuable content and fuel my caffeine addiction.

I am based in India, and I am not eligible for the Medium Partner Program, which means I cannot earn money through the Medium platform. By buying me a coffee, you are directly supporting me and my work, which allows me to keep creating content that you enjoy. Your contribution will go a long way in helping me to cover the costs of running my website, conducting research, and investing time in creating high-quality articles.

Click the “Buy Me a Coffee ☕️” button below to support me and my writing. Thank you in advance for your support!

Here is the link for my other articles. Hope you will like it.

Contact me at aravind16101800@gmail.com or +919344417431 for any collaborations.

--

--

Aravind

I am a Fullstack web developer working in HCL technology. Checkout my blog https://sportivearavind.com/