Why the Macbook Pro 14' 2021 is the best laptop anyone could buy?

Aravind Senthil V
3 min readJun 29, 2022

--

I love the design of the Macbook Pro 14,’ and I’m now seriously considering it in 2022 to replace my Macbook Air M1. Here’s why! The Macbook Air M1 is plenty good for what I do with 8gbs of RAM and 256GB of Storage. But I found myself using my laptop more than my iPhone.

Source: apple.com

So here’s my typical workflow, I use a lot of tabs on Safari and sometimes on Chrome for various purposes. For instance, while writing an article, occasionally, I edit videos on Final Cut Pro for my mom’s youtube channel. While editing videos, I open many more tabs than I want to. But I’m a person who does not like to open a lot of tabs while I’m done with a specific task and don’t require those tabs. I am also a business student who primarily uses it for college, such as google docs, some graphic designing on photoshop, and as usual, a lot more tabs.

You can get an idea about my workflow. The Macbook Air M1 2020 base model is sufficient for my workflow. But I think I need an upgrade because of 2 main reasons. The first reason is the Display. I’m not complaining about the Macbook Air display, it’s excellent. It has a great LCD and, by far, the best LCD panel I’ve seen on a laptop. It just works for a lot of people. I need a good display upgrade, and Macbook Pro 2021 seems an excellent addition for a display nerd like me.

Source: Reddit

MacBook Pro 14 houses a Mini-LED display that powers up to 1600 nits, which is nuts for consuming content. I drink a lot of content on my laptop even though I have a budget 4K TV. I do not like to sit in front of a giant screen to watch my content. I’m a person who takes around my laptop to consume content on the bed or the couch.

The second reason is the performance. Don’t get me wrong, the performance of the M1 Macbook Air is phenomenal for what it offers, but it just doesn’t provide me the power to go for long hours. Significantly after almost 16 months of using it, as expected, the battery life has been degraded, and the laptop just started giving up on me sometimes.

Here’s a performance comparison of the new MacBook Pro’s 2021 with the top of the line Windows Laptops tested and published by the Verge.com

I was editing a 4K video on Final Cut Pro 2–3 days back, and there were constant stutters and a little bit of heating on the surface of the MacBook. It ultimately started freezing on me when opening Safari and Google Chrome simultaneously with multiple tabs. Thus I think I might take advantage of the performance a bit.

But my concluding thoughts about this upgrade is it worth upgrading from a 2020 Macbook Air to the 2021 Macbook Pro 14’? I would say it depends on the person. I feel like it’s worth an upgrade as I feel like I’m not satisfied with the performance I’m getting out of it. Especially insufficient ram on my computer, which I find annoying and also I’m a person who likes good display as I use my MacBook almost every day and look at the screen for long hours.

I can justify my upgrade for these reasons, but for most people who just need a laptop that works and your workflow doesn’t require this much power and don’t mind minor stutters on the computer, you are good to go with the M1 Macbook Air even today.

But I just think I would appreciate a better MacBook that satisfies me when I’m using it every day.

That’s it for today! Let me know your thoughts below. Peace out.

--

--

Aravind Senthil V

I’m an aspiring tech writer. Currently pursuing my under graduation and passionate about content writing . I love food and dogs.