Coach call #3 with Sharon

Archana N
2 min readSep 30, 2018

--

It felt good to see Sharon after another week. Seeing her all enthusiastic even after just reaching back from a really tight work schedule was an instant dose of energy for me !

We discussed the top 3 opportunities on our bucket list, our strengths and our weaknesses (this was the first task we had given each other on our first meeting). I felt very happy when she shared with each other our notion of Bubbles. Bubbles is this imaginary character in our head who we think an ideal scholar is like ! You know, super smart and super techy kind of a person :P.

Last week my first Action on Google, called Learn IT girl with Bubbles got published. We were talking about it and Sharon is now thinking of creating one for herself on Dialogflow :D. Google will send you a T shirt and 200$ worth cloud storage per month for free for an year !!! Realized that we could make the best use of this for my major project. That led to us discussing about the project plans and she told me how they had developed a scheduling algorithm from scratch as part of their final year project.

We then talked about this week’s theme #Connect where I have to interview a previous scholar of my chosen opportunity (Learn IT Girl) and someone whom I really look up to. She suggested that I look for people who are very recent scholars so that I might be able to connect more !

Sharon insisted that I participate in the GHCI career fair. I really want to but my end semester exams are clashing with the fair. I’m stilling thinking of a way out.

We decided to catch up again on Oct 2nd to continue sharing a few more stories!

Top points

  1. You don’t always have to do things the hard way just because it’s very hard.
  2. Sometimes it’s better to go with the easy way if we can shape it into our favour.

--

--