The LATE Entry

Archana Suresh
3 min readMay 18, 2019

--

Haven’t we all had people coming into your life uninvited and then leaves with an unexplainable influence over us?

Even I have. Many people!

Many came in, many left. Many left painful memories. Many left memories that could rise up my spirits any time.

But for the first time, I’ve had two people coming into my life very very late and leaving very very soon with a huge bundle of memories and inspiration for me.

Well it started at YMCA Women’s Hostel, Kochi where I stay for the past two years doing my BTech. These two people I’m talking about have been living here for the past four years! Yeah that’s right, they are final years!

It’s quite surprising that we never met and talked even though one of them lives quite near to my place back in my hometown. Well, I believe that there is something called “Time”.

Time decides everything. Our future, our wounds that heals, our memories that fades everything…and so did time decide when and how we should meet!

The first time I talked to these ladies was when a friend of mine moved into their room. At first it was just the room of my friend and two seniors. But today, now, Room no. 10 means much more than that. It’s now the room of the three monkeys; or I should say, the official meet up place of Thaazhekandam family!

Elsa.

Athulya.

Back when I hear these names, nothing really crosses my mind. Oh yes, the name Elsa sometimes makes me think of icecream (I really don’t know why).

But now when I hear these names, I have these many things flashing before my eyes!

Now when I hear Room no. 10, I have these pleasant memories that could make me smile even at my worst!

Is it the heart-to-heart conversations we had? Or is it the fun we had by picking at eachother? Or the late night tea breaks? The snacks? The instagram stalking? The gossiping with the Bluetooth speaker setting up the vibe? Or, YES, it’s the late night ghost stories isn’t it?

What is it that makes me all emotional that these two idiots are leaving?

The truth is that Elsamma and Athulyechi (as I call them) came into my life, just two months ago. That’s true! Just two months and they have created an impact in me like no one ever has! It’s very rare that a person like me, who has “excellent” social skills, mingled with these hyper active ladies and got upto their level of weirdness, but yes, it happened!

Today, if I’ve something called an aim, if I wanna be someone in my life, if I wanna move on every single stuff I’ve been stuck on, then it’s all because of them.

Thank you for all those mentoring, advising, scolding and nagging to study.

Thank you for the Bluetooth speaker vibe and the late night snacks.

Thank you for listening to my weird ghost stories and yes, freaking out at every small noise that I make for an effect.

Thank you for the fun at room 10.

Thank you for all those crazy talks.

Most of all, Thank you for being there with me.

I’m not gonna say Goodbye, coz I’m not gonna let you both walk out of my life!

No matter where we are, how we are, we’re gonna stay as the ever strong Thaazhekandam family.

Coz no matter what it is and how it is, JUST THAAZHEKANDAM MATTERS!

--

--