Sandeep Rawal was told his artwork was worthless until he made them believe it was priceless.

His artworks were said to be worth not more than 2 rupees. He said I was extremely offended and had tears in my eyes. After struggling for 5 years his artwork was displayed in a Group Exhibition in the same Art Gallery. He was 19 then.

Ardizen Artworks
5 min readFeb 4, 2019

Hello, Who are you and what type of artwork do you make?

Hi, I am Sandeep Rawal, and I paint Religious Artwork, Abstract and Cityscapes.

What was your beginning into the art world? What inspired you to be an artist?

When I was 5 years old, I had drawn the first pencil sketch of Goddess Lakshmi. Seeing that, one of my teachers handed me a few colour pencils and a piece of white papers. That was my first inspiration.

My interest in art began to grow ever since!

When did you catch your first break?

This was a little interesting experience, back in 1998 when I was 14 years old, I was fired from an Art Gallery because I was told I am a child and I had less experience. My artworks were said to be a street artwork worth not more than 2 rupees. I was extremely offended that day. I had tears in my eyes as I sat on the stairs of the same art gallery. That’s when I decided, I will do my first exhibition in the same art gallery.

After struggling for 5 years my artwork was finally displayed in a group exhibition in the same Art Gallery.

I was 19 then. I take that as the first win of my struggle.

I think Time is the biggest teacher…

What do you paint about? How do you go about painting?

I work in many styles, and in most of the paintings, I try to show my childhood and struggles. I imagine the nature and God from my own eyes and paint them on my canvas.

Apart from this, I also like the beauty of the woman and her expressions in painting, I also like contemporary and abstract art. I think Time is the biggest teacher. I have studied and practised many styles over time, and it will last for a lifetime.

Blue City of Joy 1 by Sandeep Rawal

What defines you as an artist and what elements in your paintings stand for your individuality?

I think many people recognise me as an artist when I am at any event,
people respect me very much, and over the years I have earned my own identity and it is enough.
I do not feel the need to copy a style of any famous artist, the universe has given me a unique art as a gift and I know, both I and my artworks are different from others.

A Colourful artwork titled Cosmos Interview by Sandeep Rawal

There are so many colours in your work. Reasons?

All these colours belong to the Universe. I think life is made up of all colours together, No colour is bad, they are all beautiful. Each colour has its own speciality and definition.
I play with these colours every day and I love it, And one more thing, I speak every day with these colours.

How many shows are you planning over the next few years?

Nothing is decided right now but in the future,
I am interested in solo exhibitions, demonstrations, and international art camps.

How does your being an artist affect your Life?

I am lucky that I am an artist, Art is a strong pillar of my life.
My days become boring without art.

Art has given me beautiful colours and such amazing fantasies.

Art has kept me busy and has provided inner happiness.

Art has given me an honourable life, filled with humbling achievements.

I can't imagine being anything other than an artist. I will always be indebted to art.

The Journey of Ship of Dreams By Sandeep Rawal

And what is your final ambition of this artistic journey?

I think every human being is born with two motives. One is that he has come to pick something, and other is that he will give something.

I’m born to give something to the world.
Art is a boon for me. If I could not share the art given to me by the universe,
Then one day it will be destroyed.

That’s why I have visited many government schools in India, volunteered to teach Art to children. And with this, I have been able to complete nearly 100 demonstrations at many Art Institutions, Art Galleries, Exhibitions and Public Places.

My dream is to open an Art Institute in India to teach the future generation. I see myself in those children.
Even after my death, I want to stay alive in the discussion of people, May my art become immortal forever.

I just want to be remembered for all the good things I have done.

What inspires you in the world of art?

Being born as an artist is a great fortune, I am truly thankful for that. I feel lucky that God chooses me to be an artist.

I have learned to be appreciative of what gifts I have, and am humbly proud to be an artist.

Artwork

Religious Paintings by Sandeep Rawal
Amazing Paintings by Sandeep Rawal

--

--

Ardizen Artworks

Exquisite Art Store & Exhibition for Rare Original Paintings, Sculptures & Prints⁣ | Founder: @Shravani90