Positive Reflection of Amal Journey

Areeba Faheem
3 min readOct 8, 2021

--

The term Reflection was familiar to me, but usually, I was unable to practice it in a routine. Amal Academy allowed me to look back and get insights into a particular incident and its impact by using our perspective.

Reflect with positive mindset

I am fortunate enough to get enrolled in a commendable platform and get a chance to learn from people with the same amount of relatability and devotion.

In the beginning, I was very nervous that distracted me from talking much about my experiences and also what I have gained so far. Despite all these insecurities, my instructors created an open floor to share without even getting judged.

I feel lucky and blessed to study under the tutelage of our kind Program manager Ma’am Huda and humble Program associate Ma’am Hajra. They not only gave me confidence, but they also made sure to engage us in something productive.

Although each interaction, conversation, and discussion, is close to my heart involving many lessons or takeaways and transforming me into a better self. Recalling my favorite and the most impactful experience from the fellowship was the Assessment Center.

It was a combined event and perfectly designed to ensure the expression of our essential skills required to assess our improvement. Before this, I was constantly delaying the rehearsal of the activities.

It gave all of us a chance to meet different people and perform with our maximum potential. It took me out of my comfort zone as I was to avail of its implementation and learnings for my GAT preparation and my coming interview practically. This whole situation made me think that:

Necessity makes you get out of your comfort zone and incorporate new learning.

The impact and realization of this activity experience started with the written assessment that gave me an exact idea of my situation and helped me evaluate my current progress for better future learning.

Then comes the group assessment, a chance to lead without authority and be an MVTP as well. For me, it didn’t go as well as expected, and this uncertainty aided in considering my areas of improvement, and I managed to interact with some very talented fellows for the first time.

In the end, there was a mock interview that went beyond my thinking capability. It was worth incorporating the feedback of those fellows who went before me for the interview, and I said,

All is well that ends well.

Practicing gratitude by writing a thank you email was a perfect act of positive mindset and establishing a healthy relations and network.

A kind reply of my Interviewer

The takeaways for me were the 3 Ps:

Plan

Prepare

Participate

Do not get afraid of the outcomes because, in the end, your only competition is your past self.

We have to accept the ratio of negative thoughts and overcome them with positivity, tolerance, and gratitude.

--

--